Pairing Mac with ATV via bluetooth

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by bigpoppamac31, Jul 29, 2016.

  1. bigpoppamac31 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    I really wish Apple would add this option. Airplay is garbage and Home Sharing doesn't work half the time. Also the UI on the ATV to search for and play music is horrible. I have over 6,500 songs. To scroll through that on the tiny remote track pad is insane. Hopefully Apple will add this in a future update. It's a sensible option.
     
  2. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #2
    I've been able to AirPlay my iTunes music library to my ATV4 from my MacBook Pro since I got my ATV4. I've also been able to initiate my iTunes music library playback from my ATV4 directly. Sounds like a call to Apple tech support might be of benefit to you.
     
  3. bigpoppamac31 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    I'm not going to bother with that. Worse case I'm just gonna get a bluetooth adapter for my AV receiver. I'll use that to stream my music. If I'm listening to music I'm gonna be in the same room anyways. If Apple was smart they would enable BT pairing between the Mac and ATV.

    My ultimate goal I think is to eventually get a 4K TV and use that as my external monitor for my 13" rMBP 2014. Then I'll just connect my mac to the AV Receiver for audio. Wired connection never fails.
     
  4. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #4
    That'll work, but you'll be streaming over BT instead of WiFi, if that matters...
     
  5. bigpoppamac31 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    That fine for me. I'll never understand why streaming music has to go through the internet anyways. If I'm listening to music I'll be in the same room so direct pairing (call it bluetooth or whatever) makes more sense.
     
  6. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #6
    It's more like WiFi Direct, nothing to do with and doesn't require the internet. Similar to Bluetooth, but the signal goes over your WiFi network instead for peer-to-peer connectivity. The benefit being increased bandwidth and no loss of audio quality.
     
  7. bigpoppamac31 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Well it just seems many times the ATV doesn't connect with my iTunes on my Mac. Plus the UI on the ATV is really not great for searching for and playing music. I can search for and play what I want much faster using iTunes directly on my Mac. Search on the ATV in general is crap. Whoever thought of putting the alphabet in one long line across the screen was a nut. Should have arranged it "qwerty" style. Also the "Music" app on the ATV doesn't show all my songs hence I use the Home Sharing app. But many times it won't connect the first try. Long term I'm likely gonna have my Mac connected to a 4K TV and my receiver. That'll be my external monitor. I'll just be on the couch with my wireless keyboard and trackpad.
     
  8. priitv8 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #8
    Try the remote app for searching and comfy text input.
     
  9. bigpoppamac31 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    I have the Remote app. It's decent but is kind of a battery hog. Plus for some reason it's hard for all my devices to be on the same network. I have an Airport Extreme with simultaneous dual band. I prefer to be on the 5GHz band but apparently it's not so great when going through walls into other rooms. You almost need direct line of sight which is weird. But the 5GHz band is generally faster then 2.4GHz. Lots of times the device won't detect both wifi bands.
     
  10. priitv8 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #10
    IMHO that won't matter if some devices are on 5 and others on 2,4 WLAN. AirPort joins them to single LAN segment, together with wired devices.
    To make sure my devices always prefer the 5GHz wlan, I have given it a distinctive SSID.
     
  11. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #11
    Many are fine with Bluetooth as their audio streaming method and can't detect the degraded audio quality, 'sounds' like you're amongst them. I like the flexibility and sound quality of playing my library within iTunes on my ATV4 or AirPlaying from my iPhone or MacBook Pro to my ATV4... ;)
     
  12. bigpoppamac31 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    I like the sound quality when it works. But the UI is not so great. Even the arrangement of my songs is sometimes awkward. Plus with almost 7,000 songs it's a lot to scroll through on the remote or the iPhone app. I may have my Mac connected to my home theatre via HDMI anyways once I get a 4K tv. A 43" 1080p TV doesn't give a sharp enough picture. My rMBP has a far clearer and sharper picture. Especially for text. I may get rid of the ATV all together as I don't use it often enough. I'm still mulling things over but we'll see.
     
  13. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #13
    opponent
    Seemes like AirPlaying from your Mac to your ATV4 is ideal then, but, whatever works out best for you :confused:
     
  14. bigpoppamac31 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    I've tried Airplay but the connection is crap. Does it still go through wi-fi?
     
  15. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #15
    Probably something with your hardware or configuation -- excellent connetivity on my end. Yes, it goes via WiFi -- you might want to do an internet search on how AirPlay works (maybe even WiFi in general), from what you've typed, it seems unfamiliar to you.
     
  16. bigpoppamac31 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #16
    I know how it works. I just don't think my apartment is good with wi-fi reception.

     
  17. bigpoppamac31 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #17

    Well I'm giving Airplay another go and it seems to work fine so far. But I may look into a wifi extender just in case. I've seen that the Airport Express can be used as an extender but how do I do that?
     
  18. KnowOne01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    #18
    Yes it does but its performance is linked to your wireless router. To get better performance you can connect P2P. This uses wifi but connects directly to your AppleTV. Simply disconnect your Mac from your router but keep wifi turned on.
     
  19. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #19
    Google is your friend, for example: "setting up airport express to extend wifi"

    The AirPort Express user documentation explains the process as well.
     
  20. bigpoppamac31 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #20
    So I'll have no internet connection on my Mac. How do I link the Mac and ATV via wifi without my router?
    --- Post Merged, Aug 5, 2016 ---
    I heard it was better to connect both base stations together via ethernet for better signal strength.
     
  21. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
  22. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #22
    Whatever works best for you -- good luck! :)
     
  23. bigpoppamac31 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #23
    Well that's just what I heard. Would it make sense to do that?
     
  24. KnowOne01, Aug 6, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2016

    KnowOne01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    #24
    You would connect the same way. ATV supports Peer 2 Peer. It still uses wifi. You just need to disconnect your Mac from your router.

    It's not perfect but it's a solution when your home network isn't quick enough. I used to have the same problem until I upgraded my wireless router.
     
  25. bigpoppamac31 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #25
    I don't think it's an issue of speed. It may just be an issue of placement in my apartment which is very linear. The living room is at one end and my bedroom is at the other end. Also maybe the wifi signal can't go through my walls very well. my apartment building was built in the 1960's if that means anything. Even my dad has issues with his ATV4 and his is in the same room as the Airport Extreme.
     

Share This Page