Palm Desktop for Mac: Run Mac version or Win version in Fusion?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dacreativeguy, Dec 4, 2008.

  1. dacreativeguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #1
    I just bought my wife a new Al MacBook and need to migrate her Treo 700p from her old Windows machine to the new Mac. I used to use Palm Desktop for Mac and know it is a little quirky and may have some issues with Leopard, so I'm trying to decide whether I should go down that path or just install Fusion and run the windows version in a VM. Anybody have any recommendations either way? She uses Palm Desktop only for syncing, so I don't need to worry about the Leopard iSync issues.

    Thanks
     
  2. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #2
    Buying ans installing both VMWare and Windows seems to be overkill if your wife is just going to be syncing the phone. I would just run the Mac version of it and keep a back up on hand.
     
  3. dubhe macrumors 65816

    dubhe

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    #3
    I use Missing Sync for BlackBerry which I know is not for your Palm, but it always seems to delete files or otherwise jumble them up (mostly address book stuff). I now use VMFusion and sync with an XP address book which I periodically export to OS X Address Book. At least that way is 100% reliable, and reversible.
     
  4. DaveF macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NoVA
    #4
    Palm Desktop works fine on our 2.4 GHz (intel) MacBook Pro and 5-year old dual-G5 tower, both running 10.5.5.

    I'd try it on your Mac, as it should work.
     
  5. dacreativeguy thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #5
    I made a few backups, crossed my fingers, and did the deed. It seemed to work just fine.
     

Share This Page