Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mac1947

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 17, 2010
NY
My dear Family,

I just a got new MBP & I ordered the Speck through Satin Case & Moshi Keyboard Guard., I am confused whether I need to buy the Palm Guard, Track Guard., & the Sleeve. I feel like that I can manage with Laptop bag itself.

Is these three things must - Palm Guard, Track Guard & Sleeve.

As you are experts in this field, please give me your suggestions.

Thanks for your time.

Regards,
Mac1947

thegoldenmackid

macrumors 604
Dec 29, 2006
dallas, texas
I'm no expert, but I would say the level of protection my MacBook Pro receives is a little bit more than most.

I use a Speck Satin Hard Shell (although, I would get an Incase if I had to do it again); a Tom Bihn Brain Cell (sleeve) (my thoughts here); an iSkin Pro Touch keyboard cover and a Radtech ScreenSavrz.

I've never liked the feel of the Palm Guards, however TwelveSouth has a leather one that is nice. If I wore a watch or cufflinks daily (or a hard bracelet), I'd probably get one, but not wearing any of those - I see no need. The keyboard cover is something that I am a really large fan of and I do know from experience that if you get a keyboard cover, you should probably get something to put over it as the oil from it stained one of my screens.

I would just wait and see if I were you, it won't hurt and will likely save you some money. Also do some adequate research (these forums are a great place for that) - you will learn things like neoprene sleeves don't protect from really anything, besides scratching.

mac1947

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 17, 2010
NY
Thanks!

Thanks for your suggestions., I got Speck through Satin Case & Moshi Keyboard Protector, still hunting for Track Guard & Palm Guard.

icec0ld

macrumors member
Mar 1, 2006