Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS3/TZ7: Zoom range demo (shots of Belvedere Palace, Vienna)

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Habakuk, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. Habakuk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna Austria Europe
    #1
    As I've mentioned already in this Mac Rumors' "Digital Video" thread...

    Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS3/TZ7: Small, HD Video, Dolby Stereo - demo video

    ...I own that fabulous compact size digital camera since some days. Here some demo shots in photo mode showing the immense 12x zoom range from 25 mm to 300 mm (=35 mm equivalent; original: 4.1 mm to 49.2 mm).

    All photos taken in full iA mode (intelligent Auto--an advanced automatism that features scene detect). Only resized in iPhoto (export: "high" JPG quality); no crop, no color saturation enhancement, no color temperature "correction", no "sharpening" filter at all. Image quality straight out of camera. All photos taken yesterday.


    First two photos. Danube Canal in Vienna downtown.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Donaukanal

    1. 4.1 mm (max wide), iA: landscape mode, ISO 80, f/5.0, 1/500
    2. 49.2 mm (max tele), iA: landscape mode, ISO 80, f/5.6, 1/640

    Next three photos. Belvedere Palace, Vienna.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Belvedere_(palace)

    1. 4.1 mm (max wide), iA: landscape mode, ISO 125, f/4.5, 1/500
    2. 7.3 mm, iA: landscape mode, ISO 80, f/4.5, 1/400
    3. 49.2 mm (max tele), iA: landscape mode, ISO 125, f/4.9, 1/400

    I hope you can see them in the attachment of this posting. Here are the direct photo bucket links:
    http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l169/bahnfrei/donaukanal-telaviv-totale.jpg
    http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l169/bahnfrei/donaukanal-telaviv-tele.jpg
    http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l169/bahnfrei/P1000621.jpg
    http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l169/bahnfrei/P1000623.jpg
    http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l169/bahnfrei/P1000622.jpg

    Warning! Don't upgrade this camera (and other Panasonic cameras with different firmware version numbers) to firmware version 1.2 if you want to use third-party batteries! This new firmware version 1.2 was published by Panasonic one hour ago.

    Just for your information. Don't download, don't install those items, there are no more "improvements" against firmware version number 1.1:

    http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/dsc/download/
    http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/dsc/download/TZ7_ZS3/index.html


    On the original Lumix Panasonic battery (shipped with cam) is written:
    "DMW-BCG10E 3.6 V 895mAh 3.3Wh Li-ion"

    I've got a no-name replacement battery via Amazon that was advertised "for TZ7" (ZS3). There is written on it "For BCG10 Replacement Li-ion Battery 3.7 V/1000mAh" and it works just fine. My Pana TZ7 and the shipped charger DE-A66 didn't complain. Loading and lasting time maybe even a bit longer than original battery. No explosions so far ;)

    You can't buy an original Panasonic battery for that camera worldwide! It's sold out. It's exorbitant expensive (around €70). Battery life of my TZ7 is not overwhelming.

    Clicking on the "Important Notice" on the bottom left of the linked pages reveals that the G1 and GH1 versions are "coming soon". As it's often not possible to downgrade the camera's BIOS, now might be a good time to buy your G1/GH1 or other Panasonic camera before they come shipped with the new firmware. That's one FW upgrade I'll be boycotting!

    Otherwise the camera is fantastic especially the movie features.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. kreuzberg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    #2
    Great work! Excellent comparison of wide and tele for anyone considering buying this camera, it does seem to produce very good pictures at low ISOs. How does it handle higher sensitivities?
     
  3. Habakuk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna Austria Europe
    #3
    Thank you, kreuzberg! You are welcome!

    I won't sell my one :) (And I am not affiliated with any camera producer or vendor. It's just a tip for the Mac Rumors community.)

    Very well according to the prof reviews mentioned in the other thread. I'll try to supply some examples here as soon as possible.

    The drawback seems to be if you want to shoot (fast) moving objects outside the flash's reach in the darkness (or in difficult light situations) that could be a problem without additional equipment but all other things should work well even in iA mode.
     
  4. atomicshark macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    Great shots!

    This is one amazing little camera.

    I've already recommended to a few people.

    One of my co-workers bought it and he loves it as well.
     
  5. kreuzberg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    #5
    Yeah I agree, it looks great.

    The only camera that would stop me buying it would be its own little brother, the TZ6, similar picture quality but about £90 less. Admittedly it doesn't have some of the nice "extras" the TZ7 has (face recognition, better screen and better video recording) but for me those are really that important as Id only be using it as a basic P&S. Hopefully I can afford one in the next month or so before my holidays :cool:

    @ Habakuk: If you could post a couple of indoor shots to show its performance, that would be amazing :)
     
  6. Habakuk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna Austria Europe
    #6
    Girl Portrait

    Straight out of the camera. I've done just two things with iPhoto: Corrected red eyes and resized. Nothing else--no cropping, no sharpening, no color correction or enhanced saturation or ANYTHING.

    Settings: Ext. Day, HMI (Metal halide lamps) + Flash lighting, TZ7 Full iA mode
    Scene detect Portrait, 1/125, f/4.9, 49.2 mm, ISO 250, built-in flash: ON
     

    Attached Files:

  7. pinchies macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #7
    Just want to add my 2¢

    I got this camera today and it is fantastic. For anyone who is borderline between the "canon SX200" vs "DMC-TZ7" like I was, the canon may have full manual mode, but I have personally found the options on the TZ7 adequate, and the killer for me was that the canon cannot zoom during video. Buy it quick before you get the firmware 1.2 models!
     
  8. Habakuk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna Austria Europe
    #8
    Yes. Isn't it?

    Here you find a comparison between the Fuji F200EXR, Panasonic ZS3, and Canon SX200:

    http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/cameras/pocket.shtml

    The text is not so bad although I dislike the example photos.

    Don't worry. As far as I've heard the original Panasonic batteries should become a bit cheaper in the next time.
     
  9. lsd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #9
    I got a new ZS3 that came with 1.2 firmware. I haven't found genuine Panasonic batteries anywhere. Anyone still have a 1.1 firmware download? I wonder if I could install it over my 1.2 firmware?
     
  10. Habakuk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna Austria Europe
    #10
    Maybe you can get help in this thread of the "DP Review" forum (there should be download links of older firmware). I didn't try it myself but some people are telling that a firmware downgrade should work. Please let us know your experiences.
     
  11. lsd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #11
    Thanks for link!!!
     
  12. Habakuk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna Austria Europe
    #12
    Two galleries from Vienna for you!

    Art Nouveau Architecture

    I had almost no time (15 min) for taking those photos last week in bright autumn sunshine and colors. Sorry: No sorting, almost no post manipulation, no time... It shows that the Pana TZ7/ZS3 is good enough for very fast productions. Enjoy when you are interested in Art Nouveau (Jugendstil).

    The Strudlhofstiege is an outdoor staircase in the Viennese district of Alsergrund and was refurbished in 2009.

    [​IMG]

    Opened on 1910-11-29 29 November 1910, it was built by a design of Johann Theodor Jaeger and is regarded as an important Jugendstil work. It was renovated in 1984. In common with the street on which it can be found, it is named after the sculptor and painter Peter Strudel, who owned property on the street above the staircase.
    The 1951 novel 'Die Strudlhofstiege oder Melzer und die Tiefe der Jahre', written by the Austrian author Heimito von Doderer is named after the staircase, around which some central plot points take place.

    Photo gallery:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/ihabakuk/sets/72157622535272608/

    Slideshow:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/ihabakuk/sets/72157622535272608/show/

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Art_Nouveau
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strudlhofstiege

    Event "90 Years Citroën" last Friday downtown

    For me personally some of the best looking cars in the world.

    Again I had almost NO time for taking photos (1/2 hour). No retouche (only sometimes shadows lit up), more or less just straight out of camera.
    Enjoy if you like oldtimer cars!

    [​IMG]

    Gallery with 82 photos:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/ihabakuk/sets/72157622424070231/

    Slideshow:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/ihabakuk/sets/72157622424070231/show/

    Some more appetizers ;)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Citroën CX:

    [​IMG]

    Citroën DS Cabrio, very rare:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Citroën SM (Sport Maserati):

    [​IMG]

    Citroën DS:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. dubels macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    #13
    Wow after reading your other post and seeing your other pictures I think I might have to venture away from Canon P&S. Once my Canon SD600 starts to die I might have to buy the ZS3. I think the streetcar pictures you posted are amazing. I have been disappointed with my sd600
     
  14. lurcher macrumors regular

    lurcher

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #14
    I'm looking to buy this camera for Christmas, especially for it's HD video recording. Can you open the AVCHD videos in Quicktime?
     
  15. Habakuk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna Austria Europe
    #15
    It's AVCHD Lite. Quicktime? No. But iMovie (latest version) imports well and makes the conversion. But you can choose another HD format in the camera: Motion JPEG. Opens direct in Quicktime old and new.

    Additional info by the manufacturer:
    http://panasonic.net/avc/lumix/compact/zs3_tz7/index.html
     
  16. lurcher macrumors regular

    lurcher

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #16
    Thanks for the reply. So do I take it the JPEG Motion video is the same HD resolution as the AVCHD Lite but isn't compressed so you can't record for as long?

    If that's the case I don't mind as I'll buy an 8GB card :)
     
  17. Habakuk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna Austria Europe
    #17
    You're welcome, lurcher.

    Exactly. Motion JPEG needs more space on the card. Some people told me that the stereo sound frequency spectrum is a bit larger at AVCHD Lite but my old ears ;) never could distinguish any difference.

    Note that you need a Class 6 SDHC card (or better). If you want to make really long videos consider buying one or two 16GB cards.
     
  18. lurcher macrumors regular

    lurcher

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #18
    ah not heard of class 6 before but noted, thanks!
     
  19. nzra macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    #19
    Found this thread when I was trying to search about battery replacement for my DMC-ZS3/TZ7. I wanted to find the original one as I'm afraid anything would happen to my camera but after reading your explanation, I think I would go with something similar to what you bought.

    Nice pictures of Vienna! I'm going there for my winter holidays. First to Salzburg, and then off to Vienna. Any recommendation for any must-go places?
     
  20. Habakuk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna Austria Europe
    #20
    If you want to buy a third-party battery make sure that you have firmware version 1.1 on your DMC-ZS3/TZ7. Don't upgrade to 1.2.

    Salzburg, the town where I grew up and where Mozart was born, is full of lovely old and narrow places and streets, music (remember Trapp family?) and churches and has a pretty huge fortress. Overcrowded with tourists in summer. One of the prettiest towns in the world. Nice sourroundings as well: Go to Fuschlsee (lake Fuschl) or Wolfgangsee, use the aerial tramway at Untersberg. Visit Hellbrunn Palace and climb up all hills in town.

    Vienna is the city with the highest quality of life in the world, overloaded with imperial history. Three million places to go: Palaces, exhibitions, galleries, museums, concerts (Vienna Philharmonic), opera, clubs; I don't know where to begin. Culture pure! Make a Third-Man-Tour in the underground! Sigmund Freud's museum, Leopold-Ausstellung.

    There is a natural preserve National Park within the town boundaries: Lobau (floodplain with beavers). Visit the Danube Tower and the near hills for a great overview and photos with your Lumix. Nice zoo Schönbrunn at the imperial palace with English gardens.

    When you have time ship with the "Twin City Liner" on the Danube river to Bratislava, capital of Slovakia. (The nearest capitals in the world, 60 kilometers, 37 miles away.) Don't forget to record video on the trip!

    Go with the electric trolleybus to the Bratislava castle: There you have a view to the really impressive socialist architecture bulwark Petržalka (district of Bratislava). Go to the giant Neusiedlersee but don't drink too much wine. ;)

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Salzburg
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schloss_Hellbrunn
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Untersberg
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Salzkammergut
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sound_of_music
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vienna
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schönbrunn_Palace
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vienna_Philharmonic
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leopold_Museum
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Technisches_Museum_Wien
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_third_man
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Danube_Tower
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tiergarten_Schönbrunn
    http://www.twincityliner.com/
    http://www.donauauen.at/?&language=english
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wienerwald
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neusiedlersee
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bratislava
     
  21. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #21
    Just thought I'd provide a quick update regarding the firmware issue that is mentioned in this thread:

    There is no longer an issue with 3rd party batteries and firmware 1.2.

    If you have 1.2, third party batteries work just fine.
     
  22. lurcher macrumors regular

    lurcher

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #22
    I have been using this great little camera since Christmas and have a few questions for fellow users:

    1. When viewing the images on a panasonic HD TV they are quite soft using the cable that came with the camera – should I be using another one for better results?
    2. The exposure compensation doesn't seem to affect the images – all it seems to do is brighten or darken the screen! What gives?

    Have to say the zoom on this camera is awesome :)
     
  23. G.T. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #23
    I take it your not using HDMI, this is same for my GF1 it came with component cable so it will only show images/video in SD not HD you need to get an HDMI cable.

    Well it seems that camera can't have HDMI. Not much else I can really suggest.
     
  24. lurcher macrumors regular

    lurcher

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Location:
    England
  25. G.T. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #25
    SORRY I'm mistaken it has a mini-HDMI port. So u need a mini-HDMI to HDMI cable and that should be all good.
     

Share This Page