panic (cpu 2 caller) error

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by mihai.ch, Mar 15, 2016.

  1. mihai.ch, Mar 15, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2016

    mihai.ch macrumors newbie

    mihai.ch

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    #1
    I have a MacBook Air 11 inch (Mid-2012) model and I get the following error message displayed for a few seconds on the screen, soon after I power it on. The computer automatically restarts afterwards and the same cycle keeps repeating.

    Below is the screenshot of the error:


    [​IMG]
    I would really appreciate a response/feedback.



    Thanks!
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Can you boot to your Recovery system?
    (Restart, while holding Command-R)
    If you can, run Disk Utility, and try a Repair Disk.
    If that completes with no problems found, Quit Disk Utility, which will return you to the recovery menu.
    Then, you will likely want to Reinstall OS X. It will use your internet connection to download the system, then will continue with the reinstall. You won't lose your own files and apps, but the reinstall will simply reinstall the system in place.
    Assuming your boot drive is still good, that should fix your kernel panic issue.
     
  3. mihai.ch thread starter macrumors newbie

    mihai.ch

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    #3
    Thanks for the prompt reply. At your suggestion, I was finally able to reinstall the OS and clear the kernel error without losing any data.
     
  4. mirapo macrumors newbie

    mirapo

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Location:
    Malmö,Sweden
    #4
    I have a MacBook Air 13 inch (Mid-2012) model and I get the following error message displayed for a few seconds on the screen, soon after I power it on. The computer automatically restarts afterwards and the same cycle keeps repeating.I tried to reboot by starting the computer and pressed cmd-R yet to no avail.Any good advice might be welcome!

    Below is the screenshot of the error:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    Your screen shot shows that you have a MacBookPro9,2 - which is a MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid-2012), not a Macbook Air.

    Do you have a hard drive, or do you have an SSD?
    If you still have the original hard drive, that may have failed. That may also be why you can't boot into the recovery system. That's just another partition on your drive, and a failed drive may mean that you lose everything.
    Have you tried booting to Internet Recovery? (Restart, holding Option-Command-r)
    That should boot up, while showing a spinning globe (and NOT the normal Apple icon), and you may be able to test the hard drive by trying First Aid in Disk Utility. If you CAN boot to internet recovery, and the drive is not visible in Disk Utility, then you will need to replace the drive. This would also be a good opportunity to replace the old hard drive with an SSD, for a big boost in performance... :cool:
     
  6. mirapo macrumors newbie

    mirapo

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Location:
    Malmö,Sweden
    #6
    I was able to reboot the recovery system and I could easily identify the HD and then...I got stuck!If I try to restart the mac the usual way I get back to the same error(cpu 2 caller)!There is one relevant extra piece of information here-The error started in immediate connection with(not necessarily because of)my attempt to install macOS Sierra!
    --- Post Merged, Mar 2, 2018 ---
    I was able to reboot the recovery system and I could easily identify the HD and then...I got stuck!If I try to restart the mac the usual way I get back to the same error(cpu 2 caller)!There is one relevant extra piece of information here-The error started in immediate connection with(not necessarily because of)my attempt to install macOS Sierra!
    --- Post Merged, Mar 2, 2018 ---
    I was able to reboot the recovery system and I could easily identify the HD and then...I got stuck!If I try to restart the mac the usual way I get back to the same error(cpu 2 caller)!There is one relevant extra piece of information here-The error started in immediate connection with(not necessarily because of)my attempt to install macOS Sierra!
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    Do you have a hard drive, or do you have an SSD?
    Is this the original drive for your 2012 MBPro?
    Or, have you replaced or upgraded the drive?
     
  8. mirapo macrumors newbie

    mirapo

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Location:
    Malmö,Sweden
    #8
    I have a hard drive which is the original one.I have never replaced nor upgraded the drive.I was able to reboot the Mac by pressing simultaneously the alt-cmd-r keys with the only result of being referred for further support at apple.com/support.2002F
     
  9. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #9
    The Option-cmd-r is used for booting to internet recovery (and would show a spinning globe, and not your usual apple icon during the boot). The 2002F error is normally a problem with the configuration of your internet connection, or could also mean that your boot drive has a problem of some kind.

    So, I think it is likely you have a failed hard drive (or it is close to failing). That would also be why you can't boot to your recovery system (cmd-r), as a failed drive would usually mean that another partition on the same drive (which is where your recovery system is located) may also not work.

    Your next step will be to replace the hard drive. You should also replace the SATA ribbon cable, as those are also a common failure item. If the drive has never been disturbed or moved in 5 or 6 years, that cable can often be quite easy to damage. Replace it when you replace the drive as a proactive measure.
     
  10. mirapo macrumors newbie

    mirapo

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Location:
    Malmö,Sweden
    #10
    Do you suggest that I restore the Macintosh HD?
     
  11. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #11
    No. The word "restore", to me, means that you would erase, then reinstall, or do a full restore from a backup drive.
    You may try that, if you want. If that works to get your MBPro working again, then that will be a good result.
    However, I suspect it will fail.
    First, did you use an external drive (or a thumb drive) as a bootable installer when you tried to upgrade to Sierra?
    Or, did you simply download Sierra from the App Store, and run the installer that way?
    If you have a bootable Sierra installer, maybe on a thumb drive, boot to THAT, and try a reinstall. Be sure to try First Aid in the Disk Utility, to check for reported problems on the hard drive. If that passes the First Aid, then try a Reinstall macOS. If that completes successfully, then that's all you need!
    If that fails, then you should replace the hard drive. The HDD is not well supported now with later macOS versions, and you should consider replacing the hard drive with an SSD. It will really make a huge improvement in how even a 2012 Mac works - it will feel much faster in almost everything you do!
     
  12. mirapo macrumors newbie

    mirapo

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Location:
    Malmö,Sweden
    #12
    I update regularly the software on the Mac-on such an occasion I was offered automatically the possibility(by Apple)to update to macOS High Sierra.I did that with the result as previously detailed.I did not use any external drive(nor any thumb drive).
    I have run the First aid in the Disk utility but it didn't work out.Then ,in spite of your advice,I did restore the HD-and that failed(as you had predicted).
    Thank you so much for your suggestion!
     

Share This Page