Panoramic Wallpapers - can't get them to work?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by sb22, Jul 8, 2013.

  1. sb22 macrumors 6502

    sb22

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #1
    Am I doing something wrong? I've tried various images now and they barely budge? Is there a trick to this?
     
  2. Rbtrucking macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #2
    Ya, I couldn't get mine to work either.
     
  3. freedevil macrumors 6502a

    freedevil

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #3
    Beta 3 turned off reduce motion under accessibility (its renamed again). See if yours is off too. Also, set the wallpaper through settings -> wallpaper.
     
  4. sb22 thread starter macrumors 6502

    sb22

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #4
    Thank you. I tried all these and no change :(

    (I should really say, I'm on an iPhone 5)
     
  5. freedevil macrumors 6502a

    freedevil

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #5
    I don't know what to tell you. Its working on my iPhone 5.
     
  6. tymaster50 macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    Mine works, I wonder if Apple is gonna add more .
     
  7. \-V-/ Suspended

    \-V-/

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #7
    Settings > Brightness & Wallpaper > Choose Wallpaper > My Panoramas


    You have to select it from your 'My Panoramas' album in order for the Pano wallpaper to work.
     
  8. sb22 thread starter macrumors 6502

    sb22

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #8
    I think thats my problem - the Panoramas album has just.... gone. And i had it it back in Beta 2. When i try to "move" a pic from camera roll to panoramas, the album appears, but its greyed out
     
  9. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    Take a panoramic picture right now for testing purposes and try it.
     
  10. Krayzie116 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #10
    Is there a way to download others Panoramic Photos and put them in Panoramic folder?
     
  11. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #11
    I wish I knew the answer to this. I'm just wondering if the qualifications to be displayed as a panoramic photo is

    A) the picture was taken with the native camera app in panoramic mode

    or

    B) the dimensions of the picture are x by x height/width.

    I'm suspecting A) but I'll see if I can get a widescreen pic on to the phone and test it.


    update: nope, I set a really widescreen wallpaper as my wallpaper and it doesn't pan. I'm suspecting the picture has to be taken by the native camera in panoramic mode.
     
  12. Krayzie116 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #12
    This guy said he saved cause he couldn't take pictures like this

    But he doesn't show you how he download the photos in there

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=psxp45_GR3g
     
  13. flatfoot99 Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #13
    No... I managed to crop a regular photo near the dimensions of a native panorama on my phone. Sent it to my self via email, saved to phone and went right to my panoramic folder. Its still working great (this was done in beta 2)


    this was my old post...
    Dont forget to power cycle!
     
  14. Krayzie116 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #14
    What the dimensions for the iPhone 5
     
  15. flatfoot99 Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #15
    10800x2332

    I cropped a picture at about half of that and attempted to keep the proportions as close as possible. It worked fine.
     
  16. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #16
    so what is the magic number?
     
  17. Krayzie116 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #17
    yeah we need the magic number lol :D
     
  18. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #18
    /google image search standing by for magic number! :D
     
  19. loanhighknight macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    #19
    I'm having the same issue as the OP, but I *can* select panoramas from the Panoramas folder. I've even created a few panos after updating to Beta 3 and the backgrounds have yet to work like this for me. Instead, I just get the same parallax effect I would see on a normal picture.
     
  20. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #20
    The image has to be a panorama for it to work lol
     
  21. sb22 thread starter macrumors 6502

    sb22

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #21
    Yes... I know that...

    ----------

    So far I have no managed to get the My Panoramas folder back up again as a choice by creating my own panorama.

    Nada....
     
  22. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #22
    I just made my own panorama and I have the Panorama album in the Photos app, but when I set it as a wallpaper, it doesn't move the panorama side to side, just the normal parallax.
     
  23. sb22 thread starter macrumors 6502

    sb22

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #23
    Have you made sure your Reduce Motion in Accessibility is off too? Just a thought, but made no difference for me I'm afraid

    ----------

    FINALLY

    I'm not sure what done it but
    *created my own panorama (thus creating the folder
    *tested it out by opening the first attachment on this page, in its OWN page http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1595994
    *made sure reduce motion was OFF

    And it's working, hurrah!
     

Share This Page