Panther on Blue and White?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by torchwood04, Aug 18, 2007.

  1. torchwood04 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    #1
    I have Mac OS 10.4.10 running on my 350mhz Blue and White G3 with 384mb ram (revB), but it's very slow (duh). I have no use for Dashboard or Spotlight on my G3, and I only use 10.4 for Classic, and maybe light word-processing. Would a copy of Panther (10.3), or 1gb ram upgrade be better (about same price IIRC)? lol

    I do have Jaguar (10.2), not being used, along with 10.4 which is installed on the G3.

    Also, about security, the G3 does not go online any way..
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    Overclock the machine to 400 mHz, and max out the RAM at 1gb. You'll see a difference. Tiger is the fastest OS X you're going to get. So don't bother changing.
     
  3. torchwood04 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    #3
    Okay, I'll do that. Is it safe to overclock it from 350 to 400? Anyway, I guess upgrading it would be easy, and mostly painless, as 1gb upgrade for it is very cheap..
     
  4. Royale w/cheese macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #4
    I would also stick with tiger. Jaguar runs like molasses even on a G4 400 with 896mb RAM. Overclocking the 350 to 400 shouldn't be too bad on the processor, although I have never been much of an overclocker myself.

    If you want to breathe in some more life to that smurf, you may want to check out this 1000mhz G3 upgrade from OWC. But it may be more than what you want to pay, but definitely a fast G3.
     
  5. gikku macrumors regular

    gikku

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    -33.82,151.26
    #5
    add the ram, even 512mb would improve it significantly.
     
  6. torchwood04 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    #6
    I thought about getting that, but I'd rather put money into my Mini upgrading it to 2gb ram. I will get the RAM 1gb though...

    Thanks all!

    And I am staying with Tiger. I've realized that is the best OS I can have on the G3 (and last).
     

Share This Page