Paragon Boot Camp Backup

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Synchro3, Mar 14, 2015.

  1. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #1
    Paragon released a new tool for backup and cloning Bootcamp partitions.

    It's for free.

    http://www.paragon-software.com/home/bootcamp-backup/

    Key Features & Benefits:
    Sector-level backup – to create file system backups;
    Backup to VD – to store your data in a virtual disk. You can mount this disk and access the partition data at a point in time, when backup was done;
    Incremental imaging – to only back up changed sectors. Incremental imaging improves backup efficiency and reduces storage disk space required by the image;
    Schedule backup – to automate regular backup operations;
    Selective restore – to easy extract files and folders from a backup image without the need for restoring an entire image;
    Windows migration – to migrate Windows OS from one Mac computer to another;
    Pinned archive state - to pin the archive or increment state and to be sure that you can always go back to it. This archive will never be changed or merged automatically;
    Support for Windows installed on separate disk;
    Enhanced restore to another Mac;
    Paragon Updater.

    System Requirements:
    OS X 10.7 Lion
    OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion
    OS X 10.9 Mavericks
    OS X 10.10 Yosemite
     
  2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #2
    Does it work like WinClone?
     
  3. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #3
    Konstantin Komarov, CEO of PSG, told eWEEK. "It's free at the moment but can likely to get incorporated by our commercial boot camp solutions later."

    The full article with the above quote can be found here.

    Still, it looks interesting and competition is always a good thing. The incremental backups are something Winclone doesn't currently do. I'd be interested to see how fast it is compared to Winclone. As of Version 4 of Winclone, the speed of backup/restores is really improved from previous releases and quite speedy overall.
     
  4. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #4
    Winclone 5 has been released and apparently now includes incremental backups as well. :)
     
  5. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #5
    Probably in response to Paragon's offering?

    Either way, I've already used Paragon's offering and found it to be quite useful. The added bonus is that it's free.
     
  6. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #6
    I highly doubt they got it out the door in the week or two since Paragon's press release. I would guess that Version 5 of Winclone has been in development for some time now. Version 4 was released a long while back.

    See my post above. According to the Paragon CEO's rhetoric, it may not be free for long. Maybe just as long as it takes people to get good and used to it and all backed up with it. ;)

    I haven't decided whether to pony up the $20 upgrade fee for Version 5 of Winclone myself. I don't really need incremental backups. It's a nice feature though.
     
  7. doynton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #7
    Doesn't work for me anyway. Why I click "Backup now" it immediately says "Backup cancelled by user". Oh well.
     
  8. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #8
    Which is this you're referring to, Paragon or Winclone?
     
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    No, it takes a lot of time to roll out new versions of software. I'm a user of winclone and I'm happy with that, actually I need to say I was a user of winclone. I've since removed the bootcamp partition and my MBP is OSX only now. For my windows needs I have a Surface Pro 3
     

Share This Page