Parallel 4.0 gaming?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by liger83, Nov 15, 2008.

1. liger83 macrumors newbie

I am kinda new to this parallel... and to this forum lol

hmm i was wondering if Fifa 2009 would run using parallels on my macbook.

i have new macbook so graphics shouldn't be a problem..

before i had parellel 3.0 and i was able to run it.. but slow

with low graphics setting.. has anyone tried gaming using parallel?

not bootcamp.... i heard bootcamp you are able to play..

i do not want to switch back and forth to do that...

Thanks in advance ^^

2. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

SnowLeopard2008

Boot Camp is much better suited for gaming. Parallels 4.0 might do it, but will not be a whole lot better than 3.0.

3. noonereally macrumors newbie

Good question though... I'm eagerly awaiting benchmarks of vmware 2 vs parallels 4.0 to substantiate that "50% speed improvement" claim.

4. casw1000 macrumors member

I have run the trial of Desktop 4.0 last night with a view of using my 8800GTfor GPU folding under windows. I do think that Parallels 4 has grown up quite a lot, however the video settings / drivers are their own, meaning that you can only allocate up to 256mb of video memory.

The memory / cpu capabilities are much improved and this is good news. I also found the Desktop 4 to be much more responsive. Ok so I am running it on my MacPro 8 core job, but even so, this a good step up.

However, I am not sure I am willing to splash out until I know if I can get my nv gpu to be seen correctly and address all 512mb for games and folding.

-casw1000
    fold4life.com

5. killerwhack macrumors regular

killerwhack

Parallels 4.0 license

I installed over the weekend. The installation/upgrade demands you enter the original key from way back when I installed Parallels 2.5 - This really irked me as I thought it would be a quick upgrade and I ended up doing work to find out what the 2.5 key was.