Parallel and VMware

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Bilalo, Aug 28, 2012.

  1. Bilalo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    #1
    I have a question that I didn't get 100%... When I get parallel 7/8 or vmware 5 which cost $50-100, does that automatically install windows 8 or do I have to buy windows 8 else than the application? From where do I buy it and how much will windows 8 cost to create parallel windows? I know windows 8 didnt come out yet, i meant when it does.

    Thank You
     
  2. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #2
    You need to buy your own version of whatever operating system you install. You can buy it from anywhere you want.
     
  3. Bilalo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    #3
    So what do these programs do exactly then? I can just re-boot and install both can't I?
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    They allow you to run another operation system (Windows, Linux, etc) simultaneously with our Mac OS

    If you install Windows with Bootcamp you can also run that partition with VMware or Parallels too

    They create a virtual machine

    and yes, you have to buy a copy of Windows

    Here is a guide for you
     
  5. Bilalo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Oxford, England
  6. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #6
    They are virtual machine applications. They act like a completely independent computer inside the window. Thus you can install unix, dos, windows, and even in some cases MacOS. The operating system is running in a virtual machine and thus you can do a lot with it and it won't corrupt your main operating system (MacOS). But because they are emulated, they are slower than native operating systems running directly on the hardware. This means that in general they aren't very good for gaming (not that you can't do it, some people do, especially older games).

    I use mine every day for work. We have about a dozen or so different windows configurations with another half dozen or so applications for each. It gives us the flexibility to test our hardware with different operating systems. I use it for my windows development; and thus my development environment can be completely independent from my test machine. In fact, by just copying over the file(s) for the test machine I can always run on a clean version of windows.

    For every day use I have a Development machine, a Office Machine, a Synthesis Machine, a Test machine, all sitting on the desktop of OSX.

    From a company stand point we have moved to requiring every project, when it is started, installed / developed on a clean virtual machine. The developer can install their tools, their environment, and when the project is done, it is added to our projects repository. This way if someone later on has to go back to make changes, all of the tools are already installed, all of the versions of the tools are exactly what the developer used, and the build environment is all setup exactly as the developer left it. Often we can distribute these environments with our hardware to our customers (we do a lot of contract work). This way, they get everything left in our last state and we know works perfectly.

    Hope that helps.

    BTW, if you want to just play games, yes, you can setup boot camp and reboot your computer into windows, that will give you the best performance anyway. But it does require you to reboot.
     
  7. Bilalo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    #7
    This explains alot, thanks for the time it took you to explain it to dumb old me, but just one moremthing, I do want it for games but I prefer not to reboot as restarting and all that is a burden, if i have an rMBP with 2.6 GhZ and 16 GB ram, will I not be able to play WoW or Diablo or any windows games not on mac smoothly? I know booting is better but is it that big of a difference and how much?
     
  8. Bilalo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    #8
    I do want it for games but I prefer not to reboot as restarting and all that is a burden, if i have an rMBP with 2.6 GhZ and 16 GB ram, will I not be able to play WoW or Diablo or any windows games not on mac smoothly? I know booting is better but is it that big of a difference and how much?
     
  9. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #9
    You will get much better performance running Windows natively via Boot Camp. Parallels is the best of the bunch for running games in my experience but I wouldn't try and run any modern titles on it.

    It's worth mentioning that most Blizzard titles such as the aforementioned WoW and Diablo are available in a Mac version.
     

Share This Page