Parallel Desktop.. to mac osx

Discussion in 'macOS' started by badlover, May 8, 2009.

  1. badlover macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #1
    Hi there,

    I have a little internet problem. My mac mini does not recognise my ADSL modem, so I can only connect in a PC, and then plug an ethernet cable to connect my mac, with the pc, then I can use internet on my mac...

    I think that I'll buy a news usb internet modem, but for now on, I would like to use Parallel desktop (witch run very good ) to connect my mac on the internet.

    Problem : When the windows xp of my parallel desktop is connected to the internet, my mini mac is not, even if I tried all the networking option available..

    Any ideas ?

    Thanks again ^^
     
  2. kostia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #2
    Is there a reason the DSL modem has to be connected directly to a computer? Why not just buy a cheap router (even the lowest-end Linksys ones support PPP over ethernet for DSL) and connect both computers to the router? That way you wouldn't have to bother with the DSL software at all.

    If getting a router isn't possible for some reason, it sounds like your DSL connection requires that Windows software to work, and therefore your internet connection requires Windows to work. Maybe your ISP has a Mac version of the software available.
     
  3. badlover thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #3
    Here is my actual connection :

    [​IMG]

    And here is the one i want to get working :

    [​IMG]

    I know I should probably buy a router, and i'll think i'll do it, but i want to know if the windows XP in the parallel desktop is connected to the internet, how can I configure the network configuration so that my Mac mini is connected too.

    I should add that his modem is not recognised by 10.5.6, it freeze my computer as soon as I pluged in the mac... so I can only use it in a windows xp parallel desktop version. I searched the net, there is no Universal version of the driver of this DSL modem.

    Thank you again.
     
  4. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    My guess that your ADSL line uses standard PPPoE to connect to the Internet. I also take it that you are unfamiliar with the Macintosh. To connect your Mac to the Internet, you should use the Network preferences pane to establish a PPP connection. Your ISP's tech support page will probably give you the correct settings. The fact you have Windows installed via Parallels means that you can simply transliterate the correct settings from your Windows setup.
     
  5. badlover thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #5
    You're right about that : i am new on mac. I'll try configuring the network settings on parallel windows. Thanks
     

Share This Page