Parallel hanging

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mac2thefuture, Aug 9, 2008.

  1. mac2thefuture macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    #1
    Any ideas please on why it just falters and hangs here for ever as demoed.

    Not sure if my kids have played around at all.

    [​IMG]


    Thanks for any assistance
     
  2. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    #2
    I've now tried booting from the disc which I found and I get this....

    [​IMG]

    Any suggestions please?
     
  3. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #3
    that messages is saying that you have no fix disks present. Were did u save the virtual HDD for the software? Normally i believe it's in Documents?
     
  4. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
  5. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Poland
    #5
    Maybe file .hdd is corrupted. Can you check it?
     
  6. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
  7. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #7
    I haven't used parallels much, but i no with vmware fusion there is a option to browse for a virtual hdd.

    Have a look through the menu options, there has to be a option for it
     
  8. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    I have no idea, but here I found an article on Parallels website that may help.
    This is link to Parallels Explorer User Guide.
     
  9. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
  10. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
  11. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Poland
    #11
    Have you re-selected .hdd in VM configuration?
     
  12. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
  13. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Poland
    #13
    Try to change that name in file called DiskDescriptor.xml (look at an article mentioned earlier). Make a backup first!
     
  14. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    #14
    Thanks spooky, tbh I think I'll start over and reinstall. Can you recall what I'd need other that official windows disc?
     
  15. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Poland
    #15
    Serial number and internet connection to activation Windows. I'm using disc image, it's faster. But reinstall is time-consuming process. Try to change the name and revive existing installation.
     
  16. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    #16
    The article states that right clicking will enable 'Show Package Contents' i dont even have that option.
    [​IMG]
     
  17. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Poland
    #17
    Well, really strange. I checked and I've "Show Package Contents" option. I'm afraid that I don't know how to help you :(
     
  18. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    #18
    I can get parallel's to work by booting via BootCamp ??

    Oh well - Thanks for your time though :)
     
  19. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Poland
    #19
    Although I don't use BootCamp but I doubt.
     
  20. mac2thefuture thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    #20
    My spelling mistake...I CAN get it working via Bootcamp
     
  21. SpookyLars macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Poland
    #21
    But BootCamp uses a partition to boot Windows, not image file...
     
  22. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #22
    No boot camp will not solve this issue. The error that your getting stating it can't find the virtual hdd. Is that the path where it is saved? Has it been moved anywhere? Use spotlight to search for windows xp, see if that virtual hdd has been moved somewhere.
     
  23. jtyler1383 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    #23
    Check permissions on your Parallels folders and files within it, first. We've had users experience the same issue at work. Reapplying permissions seems to alleviate the issue.
     

Share This Page