Parallels 3.0 gaming

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by chex, Jun 7, 2007.

  1. chex macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    #1
    Parallels now has 3D support

    If anyone has it can they comment on how games run/if they run at all.

    thanks
     
  2. CyberPrey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    IGH, MN
    #2
    I am extremly interested in how EVE Online, Supreme Commander, and Command & Conquer 3 would work.....
     
  3. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    Insidemacgames has a story on it now.

    I wil be testing (eh.. playing.. :D ) with the following this weekend:

    Parallels 3.0 and VMware Fusion Beta 4 on a MBP Core Duo 2 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 256 MB VRAM X1600

    IIRC VMware Fusion only has DirectX 8.1 support, but we'll see.

    I hope this thread will get to be the "post your 3D Windows gaming in a Virtual Machine experiences" collection!

    We need iMac and Mac Pro testers!!!
     
  4. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #5
    I think this is a good spot for this thread, and that Quake thread isn't too useful.

    I need to make a new VM with a lot more HD space so I can try my games.

    like

    -Lego StarWars II
    -EA sports games
    -Prey

    and others.

    I will post here when I find the time to sit through another God D**n windows install...

    Or, is there a way to drastically increase the HD space of a currently installed VM???
     
  5. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #6
    when i get parallels (if i save up enough for it and an oem copy of vista) i try trackmania sunsrise, united and nations
     
  6. Aegelward macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    on my macbook with 2gigs of memory, i've tried out...

    system shock 2, total annihlation, master of orion 2 so far, all of which exibit some odd problems, like reverting to 16 colour, and becoming completly unresponsive...

    i've tried half-life via steam, and its worked flawlessly.

    i'm working up through my older games >_>
     
  7. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #8
    Lego Star Wars II wouldn't run

    said I had an unsupported graphics gard. :(

    Just Curious, what is steam? is it a separate install app?
     
  8. LaDirection macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    #9
    Tried Half Life 2, F.E.A.R. & America's Army. The first two don't work at all, AA launches but the frame rate is so low it is unplayable (2-3 fps) Mac Pro 2.66GHz with Radeon x1900
     
  9. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #10
    Really? That is pretty discouraging...considering how old the game is. I was thinking to install a few games on my MBP, but based on these terrible reports, I think I might have to skip it.
     
  10. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #11
    So far, gaming in Parallels is always a big guessing game whether or not the game will work. Half Life 2 runs, although the FPS could definitely improve. Battlefield 2 does not run for me, and I'm working on testing FFXI and The Sims 2.

    If you go for Vista, don't forget you need Ultimate or Enterprise, as licensing prevents you from using Home Basic or Premium.
     
  11. iancapable macrumors 6502

    iancapable

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #12
    I struggled with hl2 (which is the first game I've installed). What you need to do to get it and any other games working is tick the "enable directx" option in the VM Configuration, which will allow one to play games. I would also suggest pushing the memory up to 1GB. HL2 runs ok, then suddenly slows down once you're outside, but I think if you have bootcamp you can probably boost the speed a touch (meaning you can run parallels off the bootcamp partition).
     
  12. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #13
    Check out their own forums...

    I'm afraid 3D support means theoretical support, i.e. the 3D engines can access the 3D grfx card directly, but forget about performance ATM. :(

    I just hope that either Fusion or Parallels will once get the performance as was expected.
     
  13. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #14
    Lets hope Leopard provides us with something more worthwhile...:apple:
     
  14. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #15
    I don't expect anything more than what we already have: Boot Camp.
     
  15. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #16
    I never expect anything from Apple. But we've been told there are some 'secret features' of Leopard to be revealed, so it's not beyond contemplation. Plus Parallels seems like it was rushed out before the WWDC, so maybe they knew something and wanted to make as much money ASAP?
     
  16. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #17
    I seem to recall Apple stating that they would not enter the virtualization world.
    Not sure if this is a promise, but as you can read here, it seems to be one...
    OTOH.... you never know with Apple. (Video iPods...?)
     
  17. CyberPrey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    IGH, MN
    #18
    Well, I put Eve-Online onto my Parallels 3.0 Windows XP install. the game RUNS, but the mouse dissappears in certain area's of the login screen and there isn't any way to select feilds.... I was unable to go further from there... Anyone else able to make it work?

    I am going to finish up my guild wars install tonight after work and try that as well.....

    Quake 1 works fine though....
     
  18. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #19
    Computer specs:

    Mac Pro 2 x 2GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
    2 GB RAM
    ATI Radeon X1900 512MB
    20" Widescreen Dell monitors

    Windows XP Pro

    Half Life - Runs at a constant 70 FPS with max graphics in OpenGL mode at 1680x1050. I think that's the max for the game.

    Half Life 2 - Runs but is slower than a Powerpoint slideshow.

    Freecell - Runs. I only added this because some people in the Parallels forums said it wasn't.

    I don't really have a lot of Windows games anymore except MMO's and I'm not going to start one of those up.
     
  19. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #20
    Tnx, SilentPanda

    But, again.... not very good news.
    Half Life was a game I played on my P3 with Voodoo 3 card IIRC.

    Half Life 2 would be the yard stick. DirectX 9, and ran perfeclty on a grfx card like the X800 XT. Having a Xeon with the X1900 XT, I would have expected better results than the "slide show of death" :D .
     
  20. Muffin87 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    #21
    Tomb Raider Anniversary: totally unplayable, too low FPS
    NeverWinter Nights 2: won't start up, incompatible hardware
    Tomb Raider 2 : works flawlessly but you won't get any music only short sounds.
    Max Payne 2: FPS is very good but the walls always result white a part from when you r shooting. Quite funny given that it is listed among the already supported games
     
  21. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #22
    Anything that uses ActiveMark copy protection appears to not work. Gives a message about a debugger running.

    When I put all the video down in Half Life 2 it ran but it looked like CGA colors. I *think* for some reason it was using software to render the graphics instead of hardware. I have DirectX enabled in the Parallels configuration but on the video area of Half Life 2 it said "Hardware DirectX 8.1" and "Software DirectX 9.0". Hardware appeared to be greyed out. I have the newest DirectX installed. Ah well.
     
  22. thefoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #23
    I, for one, am not convinced this is strictly true. I am not a lawyer either, though!

    Looking at the EULA for Home editions, it states that "You may not use the software installed on the licensed device within a virtual (or otherwise emulated) hardware system."

    So pop into PC World/elsewhere, buy a retail copy of Home Basic. At this point there is no licensed device yet. Installation can proceed (in my untrained opinion).

    The EULA specifically prevents you using the license key associated with your OEM installed desktop/laptop within a virtual machine as well. This is perfectly sensible as you'd essentially then have two installations having paid one OEM license.

    Spot the difference with Business and Ultimate editions, where the same license key can be used on the OEM hardware, and in a single virtual machine who's image is on that same device.

    I've searched for explicit explanations from Microsoft and found nothing specifically targetting this precise scenario. It would be expected that Microsoft would not wish make public that this scenario is explicitly allowed, hence why I can't find further commentary from Parallels on this either I suspect.

    If you can post links to authoritative statements from Microsoft I'd like to read them.
     
  23. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #24
    Steam is a digital content delivery system that was born alongside Half Life 2 and made by the same guys. Originally it was used for Valve games but it's fast becoming a great publishing platform.
    Originally everyone hated it. Slowed down the process of just jumping into a game. But it sounds like it's grown on people. It's been great watching it evolve over the past few years.

    yes.

    BUT! The news that HL2 runs well has me very excited. Infact the progress with all these "Windows on Mac" solutions has me excited. How much better can it possibly get? :D
     
  24. Xavier macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
    #25
    The best part is that it only gets better. Pretty soon, the virtual solution will be just as good as the original (or as good as windows gets). Right now, Parallels is a much better option for me, and I am very pleased that 3D is finally supported.

    What will happen in the next official release :eek:
     

Share This Page