Parallels 3 to support 3d graphics

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by swiftaw, May 31, 2007.

  1. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #1
    I did a quick search but didn't find anything.

    I just got an email from Parallels detailing the upcoming release of Parallels 3.0 for Mac. Among the new features listed is 3D graphics support.
     
  2. Nightkrawler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #2
    http://www.parallels.com/en/products/desktop/upgrade
    in short: DO WANT :D

    -update-
    The german it-news site golem.de says that OpenGL works now on the rc1 and directx has yet to be added. Vista on Bootcamp will be supported. The final version should be done in the following weeks. It seems to be an closed beta.
    http://golem.de/0705/52596.html
     
  3. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #3
    I'm assuming there is an RC/beta. Anyone got a mirror?
     
  4. swiftaw thread starter macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #4
  5. LimeiBook86 macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Go Vegan
    #5
    This would be an awesome addition to Parallels. I look forward to hearing more information on this. :D :D
     
  6. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    Got the email and pre-ordered mine :)

    Linux tools. Deadly..

    3D even deadlier.

    :)
     
  7. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #7
    Hey, so long as it actually works, even if it doesnt support the newest games i'm in!
     
  8. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #8
    Wow, that's great news! I am definitely considering buying Parallels when I purchase my MBP this summer and it's great to see that there will be a major update available. I can't say I care about the Vista features, but 3D graphics support and the other integration features sound great.

    When is the GA date?
     
  9. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
    I doubt it will support m/any more than VMWare's Fusion...

    Linux users will be happy...
     
  10. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #10
    The Mac version of VMWare Fusion only supports like 5 games. It doesn't even support WC3 (which yes, i realize is available for Mac.. but i have more than one reason for wanting to run the Windows version)
     
  11. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #11
    I mean the final Fusion...
     
  12. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #12
    Actually, that's not a real word. :p :cool:
     
  13. zelmo macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #13
    I used to think your bastardly ways were just a put-on, but you have finally convinced me...:D

    Parallels looks to be progressing nicely. Will definitely add this to my next Mac purchase [and take back that copy of XPP my daughter has on her MB and never uses].
     
  14. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #14
    Thanks, glad to hear it - that means a lot to me! :D :cool:

    I agree, it really is progressing well and the developers seem to be listening to the users in terms of feature requests, short-comings, etc. - the end result is an excellent, powerful app.

    Parallels is the type of app which I have no problem paying for as I feel it is definitely worth it. :cool:
     
  15. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #15
    Huh? It kinda-sorta-woulda-shoulda-coulda is :)
     
  16. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #16
    After getting to read the page, I'm inclined to believe its DirectX8. It says, Vista Aero Coming Soon. Doesn't Aero require DX9? If they had DX9 support, then Aero would already work.

    Based on that, I'd also not expect anything higher than DX8 games to work--about the same as VMWare.
     
  17. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #17
    The screenshot shows quake 4 which requires Direct X 9.0c


    [​IMG]
     
  18. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #18


    Thanks for identifying that game. I'm glad I'm wrong! That does leave me to wonder why Aero would not work. The requirements are:
    * a 1 GHz 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor
    * 1 gigabyte of system memory
    * a DirectX 9 compatible graphics processor, with a Windows Display Driver Model (WDDM) driver, and a minimum of 64 MB of Video RAM
    * 40 GB hard drive with 15 GB free space
    * DVD-ROM Drive
    * audio output and Internet access
     
  19. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #19
    Didn't really do anything it is the file name of the picture (of course parallels could have falsely named the picture)

    As to why vista doesn't work who knows. Maybe there is a little bug with the way the graphics are handled.
     
  20. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #20
    Nice try, but no. :p ;) Next you'll be telling me LOL is proper English and OMG is a proper word as well. :D :cool:
     
  21. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #21
    Quake 4 uses OpenGL for graphics, however. Direct X is a lot of things, of which Direct3D is a subset.

    --Eric
     
  22. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #22
    I think this means I can trash my bootcamp partition and play games now on Parallels...nice

    22 gigs back where they belong

    Rebooting is for suckas

    ;)
     
  23. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #23
    Yeah, rebooting is definitely a pain in the ass at times. Looking forward to a much better experience thanks to Parallels 3 once I get my new MBP!
     
  24. Diatribe macrumors 601

    Diatribe

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Back in the motherland
    #24
    If this is true, tell me again why anyone would ever buy a Mac game again?
     
  25. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #25
    Well i didn't know which one it uses so i went to www.quake4game.com (via google) where it states Direct X9.0c, see the attachment.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page