Parallels 4.0 Buggy and difficult at best

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by palmharbor, Jun 30, 2009.

  1. palmharbor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #1
    This software is not worth five cents.
    First, just registering the software is a challenge
    as they put six sets of numbers and letters on
    the Sleve of the CD but only 5 are required so
    you get error messages over and over again.
    Then even though you have installed windows xp OS it won't be able
    to find it so you have to waste more disc space and put it in again.
    Now it won't work b/c it says "no systemdisc. cannot load from harddisk
    insert system cd disk and press any key" What does that mean?
    You must pay $30 for telephone support after you paid $90 for the software in the first place. You will get someone from India who cannot communicate.
    Screw these people.
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #2
    Sorry you are having trouble.

    I have used Parallels since version 2 and can't say I've ever had a problem.
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    Ouch!

    Sorry you had a bad experience
    I never used Parallels... I use VMware Fusion

    Hope you get things resolved
    You might want to visit the Forums on their site for specific assistance
    I know Fusion has a large support community

    Or, you can try VirtualBox... it is free and has just been updated

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  4. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #4
    I've been using Parallels 4 for a few months now and I've had no problems. That sucks that you seem to be having some. You might want to look at some of the help topics in Parallels to find out how to get started.
     
  5. mgridgaway macrumors 6502

    mgridgaway

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #5
    I've Parallels 4 and VMware, and I stuck with VM... just performs much better and I don't have any of the weird problems I have with Parallels.
     

Share This Page