Resolved Parallels 7 refuses to make use my 650m?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by khanable, Aug 21, 2012.

  1. khanable, Aug 21, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2012

    khanable macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    #1
    Hi all,

    Playing around with the trial of Parallels 7 on my rMBP and am having some difficulty getting it to make use of my 650m.

    My setup: rMBP 2.6/8/512, bootcamp Win7HP, loading the bootcamp as a VM.

    Upon loading into Windows 7 I notice everything just runs like crap. Sluggish and slow UI, and I can't get a single game to even run on the lowest settings.

    Obviously scaling is still all jacked up, but I had read in so many places that Parallels will force the use of the 650m, and it simply doesn't seem to be the case here. Any ideas as to what is going on?

    I'm not expecting to be able to play anything at 2880x1800 on high settings, but even L4D2 is choppy as all hell on the absolute lowest settings.

    Perhaps the Parallels 7 drivers are just jacked up?

    Any suggestions?

    You'll probably ask me if I use gfxcardstatus -- the answer is yes, I do. I've attempted to force discrete graphics, as well as dynamic with little to no luck. I've even gone and completely removed the application without any luck either.

    Also I've already attempted to adjust the amount of resources being given to the VM -- 2/3/4 cores 2/3/4gb of ram, etc. Nothing seems to help.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #2
    Use boot camp if you want to play games in Windows. Modern 3D games will not run well in Parallels no matter what settings you use.

    Windows in Parallels uses a generic video driver. Theres no way in Parallels to use other drivers.
     
  3. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #3
    Don't our processors support vt-d? If so it might be possible to use the GPU with the right VM.. don't know if any exist for OSX though.
     
  4. khanable thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    #4
    I installed Windows 7 in a pure VM instead of loading the bootcamp in Parallels. This solved all my problems.
     
  5. GoSooners macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #5
    AAhhhh, hopefully this will solve the fuziness I see in Win 7 when Parallels claims to advertise retina support!! Thank you!!
     
  6. khanable thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    #6
    It looks better both in a window and in fullscreen mode booting a pure VM vs booting a bootcamp install. It's not perfect, though. There still isn't full retina support.
     

Share This Page