Parallels and Fusions -general questions

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by VaatiKaiba, Dec 26, 2008.

  1. VaatiKaiba macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #1
    I was just wondering - two scenarios and I'm wondering if I can use either of the virtualisation applications to do the following:

    1) I have Windows Vista installed on my Mac via Boot Camp, and I was wondering if there was any way of using either title to access it instead of having to boot in Windows?

    2) My parents are considering getting an iMac, but they'd like to keep a lot of Windows stuff available to them. Is there any way of them being able to use either title to access their current Windows hard drive (I can connect them fine, just will the software work with an already-installed OS)?

    I think the answers to these questions may be related, but if anyone could help it would be great.

    Thanks, and have a happy new year!
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    Yes, if you have XP or Vista installed using BootCamp then Parallels or VMWare Fusion will run Windows from that partition

    This will give you a virtual machine instead of having to reboot your computer

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. jbussiere macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    #3
    Automatic detection...

    ok, so if you have windows vista installed already via bootcamp, and you install parallels, does it automatically detect the vista partition? I have read mixed results....
     
  4. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #4
    You have to point it to the Boot Camp partition, it [fusion or parallels] doesn't automatically assume that you want to run off the Boot Camp partition.
     

Share This Page