Parallels and XP?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by jefflemon, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. jefflemon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    I was thinking about buying parallels to test my sites in ie 6 etc. I want to use it with XP but im so confused as to what copy of xp to get (its for a business btw) also is there a better way to do it other than buying parallels?

    Thanks
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    Parallels or VMware will do you just fine.

    Any version of XP will do, it just need to be a full copy of Home or Professional. You can pick either up pretty cheap on eBay brand new I think.
     
  3. atlanticza macrumors 6502a

    atlanticza

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Cape Town
    #3
    You could always try VirtualBox - it's free too. See this thread.

    VirtualBox runs on Windows, Linux, Macintosh and OpenSolaris hosts and supports a large number of guest operating systems including but not limited to Windows (NT 4.0, 2000, XP, Server 2003, Vista), DOS/Windows 3.x, Linux (2.4 and 2.6), and OpenBSD.
     
  4. SrWebDeveloper macrumors 68000

    SrWebDeveloper

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA, USA
    #4
    VirtualBox is in beta for Mac OS X as host.

    I run Parallels with a cheap OEM version of XP Home and it works quite well in full screen and coherence modes (sharing content between Mac and XP including shared folders and literally copy/paste or drag/drop between OS's, super cool). If you're into more advanced software and need Direct-X support go with VM Ware Fusion as it's slightly better in that regard, otherwise the features between the two are similar. If you opt to run Vista, I suggest 4GB RAM on your Mac and set aside some addition partition space if you use bootcamp.

    There is a whole forum for this kind of thing on MacRumors, check it out.

    -jim
     

Share This Page