Parallels & BootCamp - 2 separate Windows licenses?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by btownguy, Jul 15, 2009.

  1. btownguy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #1
    If I were to have a MBP with both BootCamp & Parallels for Windows (BootCamp for gaming, Parallels for day-to-day stuff), would I need 2 separate Windows licenses? Or can I use the same license for both?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  3. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #3
    According to Microsoft's terms, you need a Windows license for each VM. Even though you are not accessing both at the same time, it is equivalent to having two physical machines, and only using one at a time.

    So, you need two licenses.
     
  4. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #4
    No.

    belvdr, Boot Camp is not a VM.
     
  5. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    If it's two seperate installations, then yes. You will need two licenses.

    However, VMWare can use a boot camp partition as a virtual machine, so you might want to look at that as it will only require one license. Dunno if Parallels can do this. Not looked into it
     
  6. btownguy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #6
    You can do that? How does that work exactly?
     
  7. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #7
    Same license

    I can tell you how it works for Fusion, and I believe it works the same for Parallels

    In Fusion, the steps are:

    Install Windows in Boot Camp first
    Activate Windows

    Install Fusion
    Run Windows from your Boot Camp Partition through Fusion
    Install VMware Tools (important)
    Activate Windows again using the same Key

    At that point, you should not need to activate any more

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  8. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #8
    My bad on terminology, but if you have two separate installations of Windows, you need 2 licenses, plain and simple.
     
  9. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #9
    That is true, but Parallels and Fusion run the installation that is on Boot Camp, not a separate installation. The detect the Boot Camp partition and run that copy of Windows without requiring a new installation.

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  10. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #11
    Agreed, doing it the way you are suggesting only requires one license. I recall being able to do this in VMWare a long, long time ago.
     
  11. DaveF macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NoVA
    #12
    I have done this. It works with only one license. Google the topic and you'll find this has been discussed and explained over the past two or three years.
     
  12. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #13
    Or, alternately, you can just read the answers to the original post in this thread that explain it

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     

Share This Page