Parallels Desktop or VMWare Fusion for Windows 7 RC

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by kolax, May 7, 2009.

  1. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #1
    I'm having pretty bad difficulties with Windows 7 and Parallels Desktop. I know it's not supported yet, but some folk have it working. I can boot up, but I can't install Parallels Tools. I changed the Configuration to "Windows 2008 Server" like someone suggested in another forum, but fails to boot up.

    Seems like VMWare are offering a better helping hand than Parallels Desktop - and while it is not supported yet by them, they say that if you use Windows 2008 Server Config everything works apart from sound.

    So am I best giving it a bash with VMWare's Fusion? 30-day trial for free. But I'd rather try get Parallels working since I paid for it.
     
  2. McShizzel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    I'm actually testing Windows 7 RC on both VMware Fusion and Parallels (both trials) to see which of the two softwares I should get.

    I had no issues installing Windows 7 on either VM software, although I didn't burn the Windows ISO file to a DVD (I just installed it via the ISO in both cases).

    I have Windows 7 RC using the Windows 7 profile in Parallels and was able to install Parallels tools with no problems (I use the Windows 2008 Server profile in Fusion since there is no profile for Windows 7 in Fusion). From what I can tell Windows 7 runs the same in both Fusion and Parallels although Parallels gets a boost in speed because it supports more cores (experimental).

    Both VM packages don't support Aero (I get a pathetic score of 1 for graphics using Windows Experience Index on both VM packages) so the only way to have Win7 look like how Mircrosoft intended it to is to boot it up in Boot Camp (I could be wrong but so far it seems to be the only way).

    If you do decide to try it out in Fusion make sure you select it as a Windows 2008 Server but apparently using the Vista profile works to.
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    If you don't need Coherence/Unity or bootcamp compatibility, VirtualBox (which is free) runs Windows 7 perfectly fine.
     
  4. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #4
    Appreciate the information. :)

    I use both Parallels and VMware. Looks like Parallels might be the better choice until VMware is updated.
     
  5. kolax thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #5
    Ah.. I wasn't aware that Parallels Desktop is officially supporting Windows 7 now..? Seeing as they have a profile for it?

    I was using Windows 7 with VMWare and it was bringing my Mac to an absolute crawl..
     
  6. cashel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #6
    Running vmware using the windows 7 RC bootcamp partition actually works better for me than bootcamp itself lol. Driver-wise anyway. Everything works for me in vmware.
     
  7. theITGuy macrumors 6502a

    theITGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Location:
    chasing the ghost in the machine
    #7
    I'm running an image of Windows 7 64-bit under Fusion and it works just fine...I used the Vista option.

    Cheers.

    -J.-
     
  8. McShizzel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Yeah the profile is there but like the multi cores above 4 it's marked as "experimental".
     
  9. jeevesofRKdia macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    x64 W7 RC1

    Perhaps someone can help me here:

    I'm trying to run x64 Windows 7 RC1 on my Unibody MBP and keep getting the error that I can't even boot (it's the W7 background and they keep checking for repairs)
    Using Server 2008, it loads but it's not "officially supported" is it a good idea to go for it anyway?

    Also, first post! :D
     
  10. McShizzel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    If your running VMware Fusion you can either use the Windows Server 2008 64bit or Vista 64bit profiles, it may or may not work with other profiles. In Parallels you have the option of Windows 7 or if you imported Windows 7 into Parallels then it will appear as Windows "Other".
     

Share This Page