Parallels has ruined my Boot Camp

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by stephenc92, Jul 31, 2007.

  1. stephenc92 macrumors regular

    stephenc92

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #1
    I originally posted this on the Parallels forums, but no one seems to reply to threads there.

    I have Vista on Boot Camp as well as Parallels. I originally created the virtual drive on Boot Camp, and then opened parallels and chose the option to use Boot Camp. Now when I try to use Boot Camp, the mouse cursor and keyboard don't work. Everything else is fine, it loads fine. I think it may be something to do with Parallels' drivers.
     
  2. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Why would you want both "Bootcamp" and "Parallels" ? Surely one or the other would suffice .. :confused:
     
  3. kbonnel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    In a nice place..
    #3
    Not always.

    I have both (vmware vs parallels), for the sole reason of better USB connectivity through boot camp for some hardware I have. I tried using vmware fusion to use my boot camp partitions (so I wouldn't have 2 windows installs) but had keyboard issues so I gave up. I would be nice to use the windows partitions under OSX so I don't have to reboot.

    Kimo
     
  4. stephenc92 thread starter macrumors regular

    stephenc92

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #4
    Because Parallels clearly states that both can compliment each other. If I want to play games on Windows, I'll use Boot Camp. But if it's a small application that does not require much RAM, I'll simply open up Parallels.
     
  5. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    Ahhhh .. not being a games player I never thought of that .. :eek: Thanks.

    FJ
     
  6. Homer2556 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    Parallels doesn't support using a Vista Bootcamp install as a VM. This is my dilemma when I purchase my new iMac. Think I'll run XP Pro until it is supported.
     

Share This Page