Parallels: 'more big news for you'

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by djgamble, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. djgamble macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    #1
    I've just been reading the Parallels virtualization blog... it appears that they will have some kind of an announcement at WWDC:

    Stay tuned for news about the final release of 3.0 in the next few weeks. Oh, and I'll see you all at WWDC, where we'll have more big news for you.

    Maybe I'm looking into it too much, but maybe there is more to this new release (which has been tested privately, unlike other versions) than meets the eye.
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    I am definitely looking forward to this. Already pre-ordered, and got the discounted price :D
     
  3. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #3
    This is going to be very important to my household. :)

    I'm not familiar with Parallels.... Do you order it directly from their site? Or what is best?
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    Maybe special Leopard only integration or something. (Not saying that it will be integrated into Leopard but some feature may rely on Leopard to work.)

    Parallels 3 already looks impressive so any more news will surely be just a bonus.

    Wonder what VMware Fusion beta 4 will contain, going to be release soon. See the email i received from VMware below, dated 30.05.07. If anyone is wondering VMware doesn't recognize my Bootcamp partition.

    Hi Richard,

    I just wanted to let you know that this bug regarding Bootcamp with FAT32
    volumes has been fixed and will be addressed in the Beta 4 release which will
    be released in the next couple weeks.

    I will go ahead and close out this case.
    Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

    Regards,

    Michael Nakamura
    Technical Support Engineer
    VMware, Inc.
     
  5. Vinnie_vw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #5
    Maybe Apple will buy it and / or integrate it fully into the Leopard-OS :)
     
  6. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #6
    I have a problem with VMware not recognising my Boot Camp partition — so this is great news. :D
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    It would be very interesting... most likely, top tier developers have already been hard at work at features that rely on Leopard APIs for some time, but may be prohibited from talking too much because doing so would spoil Apple's hand with respect to what will be in Leopard. So when they do finally speak at WWDC, it will be interesting to hear what they have to say regarding what Leopard will offer in terms of new 3P software!
     
  8. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    If they did, I'm sure they could do great stuff with it (like when they fully integrated CoverFlow) :)
     
  9. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #9
    I'm confused.... I do not own Parallels but want the 3.0.
    Re; the upgrade price of $39.99....... Is that for existing owners to 'upgrade' or is that the price (if ordered now) one can pay for the whole shebang for a new user? I'm thinking the latter, but I want to make sure before pushing the button.

    Also, I will want to have it on 3 computers. Can I just use one copy to do this or will I have to purchase a ton of these?

    Thx.
     
  10. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #10

    Partially true.
    Apple won't buy it but in Leopard it can be run virtually in a "space".
     
  11. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #11
    Ahhh! An entire Windows Space! I didn't think of that. How very cool that would be.
     
  12. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #12
    No... new users, $80. Upgrades for existing users $50. Upgrades if they are pre-ordered, $40. So if you don't have it now, it's $80.

    Legally, one computer per registration key:

    http://www.parallels.com/eula/
     
  13. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #13
    If I am not mistaken can't any App run in its own "Space".....assuming you have enough "spaces" left
     
  14. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #14
    mk - Thanks. That was what my understanding of 'upgrade' was but when I started reading further, seemed a bit ambiguous.

    Does anyone know when this will be released? I can't find that anywhere. Or are we waiting for the conference for news and a possible release at that time?
     
  15. kalisphoenix macrumors 65816

    kalisphoenix

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #15
    Yeah, but I'd expect that Apple has made this particularly nifty. Hopefully. I'd like to see them really hammer out a snazzy solution.

    </not a Windows user, even occasionally>
     
  16. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #16
    I haven't seen spaces yet, but how does it handle full screen? I think that's the key. Spaces will really be helpful with things like Parallels if something can be full-screen in one space without affecting the full-screenness of any other space. That's something that I don't think is possible in any way in Tiger -- for instance, if you have an iTunes movie or a Flash video or whatever fullscreen on the external monitor, it's inconsistent, but generally, you are not able to do any work on the internal monitor (I think in some cases, like the DivX player, you actually can do work on one monitor while you are fullscreen on the other).
     
  17. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #17
    I don't see how this could be snazzier. Spaces is Spaces. You have multiple desktops that can contain different apps.

    I have seen a early beta of Leopard in action and Spaces is slick, but I don't see how an app could be integrated into Spaces
     
  18. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #18
    Right now.Yes.But I'm talking virtually.Meaning each space is actually a seperate launchd process with it's own dock and dashboard.And user.In essense.Virtualization.
     
  19. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #19
    That I understand, but having seen spaces that is how it works with all apps. There is no need for app specific integration which I was referring to
     
  20. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #20
    Wait, I'm sorry, so that's what I was asking... does Spaces offer any improvement in function for this issue of using one display in fullscreen mode and another in regular mode? How does Spaces handle multiple displays, anyway?
     
  21. kalisphoenix macrumors 65816

    kalisphoenix

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #21
    I mean something having to do with Coherence -- having it be able to display different Windows apps in different spaces. Perhaps.

    But I don't know what I'm talking about, so don't yell at me if this already works (or works with one of the Tiger virtual desktop managers, for that matter).
     
  22. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #22
    Multidisplay with Spaces works the same as it does without spaces.

    You just have multiple version of your desktop, but each Space spans both displays.
     
  23. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #23
    So then Spaces would not allow you to have a fullscreen Windows environment in one space, that could be flipped back and forth with the OS X spaces, correct?
     
  24. kalisphoenix macrumors 65816

    kalisphoenix

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #24
    That's a bummer. I would really have liked to be able to flip through spaces on each monitor independently.
     
  25. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #25
    It will allow that, the entire point of Spaces is multiple desktops. You can have one "space" for Parrallels open in Full Screen and then as many other "spaces" as you like running you OS X apps and such.

    You can then flip between all of the spaces whenever you like. The only limitation I have seen is that you can't have a "space" displayed on your primary display another "space" displayed on your secondary display,
     

Share This Page