Parallels on MacBook Pro 15in. - ideal settings

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by insurroundsound, Dec 23, 2015.

1. insurroundsound macrumors newbie

insurroundsound

Hello, I just picked up a new mid-2015 macbook pro 15" with 16gb ram, 512gb storage, and dedicated graphics card [upgraded to newest OS as well]. I want to install a new copy of Parallels on the machine with a new copy of windows 10 pro. I've never used Parallels before, as I've always used BootCamp in the past. Did a little research on the subject, and from what I can tell, I can pick how much memory [resources] to allow Parallels to use of my macbook pro.

I only plan on running 1 virtual machine ever [windows] and have no desire to be running multiple VMs. When using the windows side of things, I will not be doing any heavy-resource stuff on the mac side, like video editing, etc. Expect it to be document reading, web browsing, etc [I'm not a gamer, either]. I have to use windows for my audio video control system programming [Crestron], if there are any other Crestron programmers out there using Parallels and would like to chime in on their settings.

Based on what I've read so far, would the following settings be good for me?
    -allocate 2 cores [VM 4] to parallels
    -allocate 12gb ram to parallels

I figured this would leave me with 4gb ram for basic usage in the mac world while getting my programming done on the windows side....could i allocate 3 cores [VM 6] to the windows side? and just use 1 core on the mac side?...or would that result in sluggish performance on the mac side?

What would you consider to be the ideal settings for a parallels usage with a macbook pro 15" of my configuration? Are there other performance settings inside parallels [or mac] that I need to be aware of? Thanks in advance.

2. insurroundsound thread starter macrumors newbie

insurroundsound