parallels or bootcamp for stock trading

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tedesco24, Jul 2, 2014.

  1. tedesco24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    #1
    I need to install software that will provide streaming stock prices. Unfortunately it all seems to be windows based, so I need to install parallels or bootcamp on my MBP. I moved away from a pc life because it was always crashing, slow loading, etc. Will adding Windows software reopen that can of worms on my MBP?
    If not, what program do you recommend?
    Thanks.
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    I'd say go with the solution that best fits your needs.
    Parallels - allows windows to run within OSX, you don't need to boot into windows. The downside is that Windows does not have direct access to the hardware which will affect games.

    Bootcamp, its a separate partition on your hard drive, you need to reboot the computer to start up windows.

    Given your situation, it looks like Parallels is a better option
     
  3. tedesco24 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    #3
    Thank you Mike. I would think rebooting would get cumbersome, especially if time is important for making a quick buy/sell decision. Any risk with Parallels opening my MBP to all of the junk associated with PC's?
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Nope, your parallels VM creates a "virtual disk" that is container file on your hard drive. Everything of windows exists in there, so its a complete separate entity.

    I personally use Vmware Fusion because I find it to be more stable, and I've not had any problems with crap getting on my local hard drive from the vmware VMDK file.
     
  5. tedesco24 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    #5
    Is Vmware Fusion the same thing as Parallels or are they different programs?
     
  6. netmanbo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    #6
    They are different programs (I mean different brands) with same functionality (i.e. you can run a Windows virtual machine with both of them).
     
  7. bigjnyc macrumors 603

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #7
    I am in the same boat, I need access to a trading platform which only runs on windows. I use VM Ware fusion and have never had any issues. It runs really smooth, very seamless switching back and forth between OSX and windows. I just run it on a separate desktop and just swipe back and forth. So far I haven't had any issues with VM Ware or windows, no crashes etc... I only use it for that one trading program.
     
  8. cookiesnfooty macrumors 6502

    cookiesnfooty

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Location:
    Harrogate
    #8
    Slightly off topic but which trading programs do you prefer? I was looking for a solution on either platform.
     

Share This Page