Parallels Problem

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Sharezjek, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. Sharezjek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #1
    Last night I installed Parralels 5 on my Mac Pro.
    It all went well, but for some strang reason it didn't recognise
    my DVD drive.
    I thought no more of it then.

    But when I Boot Camped into Windows I noticed that my hard drive letters had
    been changed and I could no longer open the DVD tray unless I went into
    Control Panel and ejected it. I now have to gently push it to close.

    Has anyone else had this problem?
    And if so, any idea how to fix it?
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Have you set up your Parallels VM to use your Boot Camp partition as Windows?

    How did you try to mount your optical drive, via the following menu item?
    [​IMG]

    What Mac Pro and what Mac OS X version do you have?



    Even though some might get tired of reading this, the thread title guy strikes again:

    A more descriptive and precise thread title will help cater to the right audience and get you more responses.
    To edit your thread title, just click on the [​IMG] button on the bottom right of your original post and then click the "Go Advanced" button below your message.

    Have you also taken a look at MRoogle, since that question may have been asked several times?
     
  3. Sharezjek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #3
    Yes, Parallels is using my Boot Camp partition.

    Ummm I didn't mount the optical drive, could that be the problem?
    And would that effect my Windows partition when I boot camp into it?

    Sorry forgot to say that I have an early 2009 Octo Pro running Snow Leopard.
     
  4. nigameash macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Space: The Final Frontier
    #4
    Well 1st off, this is software related so wrong section :p

    Did you install the parallel tools on the virtual machine to enable it to recognize all drives? Its in the virtual machine options i think, it installs the drivers which make the virtual machine function properly, that could be the problem ;)
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    Yes, as neither Windows nor Mac OS X can access the optical drive at the same time, thus the MOUNT option in the menu.
    It will mount the media in the optical drive while it un-mounts the optical drive in Mac OS X.

    I don't know, as you didn't tell us what you did to try to mount the optical drive, you might have damaged something in the process.
    More information is needed to properly assess your problem.



    Tools can be installed via
    [​IMG]

    Also have a look at the help section of Parallels as it describes some procedures as to do what in case when.
     
  6. Sharezjek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #6
    Yes the tools were installed but I didn't touched the settings as I assumed that was all done automatically, silly me :)
     
  7. Sharezjek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #7
    Ok thanks for the help.
    I'll try mounting the drive when I get home from work.

    Would that also be why my drive letters were reassigned?
     

Share This Page