Parallels traps mouse, can't mouse between Windows & Mac. What gives?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by DaveF, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. DaveF macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NoVA
    #1
    I've got two Parallels questions I hope can be answered!

    First, a real problem: In the past week, after installing a new wireless mouse, Parallels "grabs" my mouse when I click inside its window. The mouse is trapped by Parallels / Windows until I press the key combo Control-Alt to release the mouse back to OS X. This destroys my former seamless flow between Windows and Mac apps; it also renders Coherence mode useless. I don't know what caused the mousing change or how to return to how it used to be. Anyone know what the deal is?

    Second, a minor annoyance, everytime I start Windows, Parallels requires
    my Mac system password. Anyway to tell it to remember my password? It's annoying having to enter it everytime.
     
  2. sgarringer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    #2
    For your mouse issue, try to reinstall Parallels Tools, that should fix that.

    Probably the reason it is asking you for Admin password is that it is trying to update. Download the latest parallels update from http://www.parallels.com/ and install that (with Parallels closed) and then launch Parallels and install the tools.

    Should fix both of your problems.
     
  3. DaveF thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NoVA
    #3
    Thanks! That fixed the mouse issue! I downloaded and installed the latest Parallels update. In Windows, it installed the new Parallels Tools. I found in there the setting for mouse sharing and flip-flopped it and it went back to my preferred behavior.

    However, Parallels still asks for my admin password whenever it launches Windows. It's done this ever since I installed it and does it every single time. I use a BootCamp partition; I don't know if that matters. I wish I could disable this behavior.
     
  4. sgarringer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    #4
    That may be tied to Boot Camp, but I'm not sure. Are you sharing any folders through Parallels Shared Folders that might require admin rights (something like sharing the entire hard drive?) I have seen that on one of my users' machines.

    If you suspend parallels while running, and open it back up, does that ask for password too?
     
  5. brkirch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2001
    #5
    Starting a Boot Camp partition in Parallels (or VMWare Fusion for that matter) requires an administrator password each time, so it is normal that you are being asked for it.
     
  6. DaveF thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NoVA
    #6
    Ok, thanks. It was the normal behavior since first install. But two months and many, many launches later, it's a nuisance. :(
     

Share This Page