Parallels Using Bootcamp ?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Washac, Jun 19, 2015.

  1. Washac, Jun 19, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015

    Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    Thought I would try Parallels 9 using my Bootcamp as the virtual machine.

    Got it all setup OK, my Bootcamp Windows all opens up OK, but Parallels is not recognizing my video card, when I try to run games I get Issues and this error message -

    Sorry but your machine is unable to run this game, it requires a graphics card that supports shader model 3, the game will now exit.

    Or games set themselves into low graphics setting.

    The games all run fine when I boot directly into Bootcamp.

    Also the games run fine if on installing Parallels I create its own VM to use.
     
  2. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #2
    If you go into your device manager from the VM, you'll see that your GPU is not listed as AMD/NVIDIA/Intel but rather as a Parallels virtual device. The GPU emulation has a much more limited feature set. If what you're trying to play uses DirectX 11, for example, it's not going to run under Parallels.
     
  3. iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #3
    Do you have DirectX updated? Is it selected in the config for Parallels? Your card supports Shader 5.0.
     
  4. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #4
    Things are set up no different to any other Virtual Machine that I create where everything runs fine.
     
  5. iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #5
    Are your settings as such:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #6

    Yes exactly.

    It all works fine as long as I do not point Parallels towards Bootcamp.
     
  7. iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #7
    That's odd. How are the settings when you boot straight to bootcamp? GPU drivers all updated, etc. ?
     
  8. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #8
    Yup.

    I am wondering if the problem is caused by the fact that the Bootcamp partition that I point Parallels towards is on a another drive, not the drive where I run Parallels.
     
  9. iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #9
    That's interesting.. I'll get one of my usb hdd and setup bootcamp then parallels and see if I get the same results.
     
  10. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #10
    Out of curiosity, have you tried using VMWare? Parallels 9, and especially 10, were very problematic for me when creating a VM out of my Boot Camp partition. The latter worked precisely once before crashing and refusing to start the VM ever again. I switched to VMWare Fusion and all has been well ever since. Its gaming performance isn't as good as Parallels, but the only games I ever play through the VM are much older titles and emulators that don't have Mac ports, and it works just fine.
     
  11. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #11
    Installed a trial copy VMware Fusion 7 today and got exactly the same issues :(
     
  12. iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
  13. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #13
    As in my sig Mavericks 10.9.5 and Parallels 9.
     
  14. iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #14
    Can you give me a specific game that you have this problem with? Is it on Steam, etc.? Also, the build number for Parallels.
     
  15. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #15
    Thanks for trying to help but I have given up with this idea now, I have spent today trying to get Parallels to boot into my Bootcamp partition with everything working as it should. I got to the point where it would not even boot into Bootcamp windows without throwing up errors, I really cannot waste anymore time on this. I will just carry on using Parallels with its own VM, and running Bootamp on my other drive,thanks for your time though appreciated, at least that way everything works :)
     
  16. iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #16
    I still want to try and get an idea of where the problem stems from lol. Send me a message or reply here, and at least give me a couple game names and I'll test 'em out and see if I can duplicate the issues.
     
  17. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #17
    Tried again this morning just to get a few things straight, did not do anything any different and the game ran all be it in a laggy fashion, but it did load, why ? I have no idea.

    Parallels build 9.0.24251
    Game - LEGO: Jurassic World, its on steam, I know, Iknow, I stopped using steam sometime ago now, but the game was purchased as a gift to me.
     
  18. iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #18
    Lol. It's ok, I'll look into it. You're on the latest Parallels build for sure. I wonder if it might be that you're not updated on the OS side?? I'll maybe do an install of Mavs and see what I can get.
     
  19. iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #19
    I got the game running in Parallels (bootcamp).
     
  20. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #20
    Oh well, thanks for looking into this, may mess a about with it again just to see if I can get it working on day.
     
  21. iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
  22. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #22

    Hmmm maybe but the Bootcamp partition and games I run in it all work fine.
     
  23. iF34R macrumors 6502a

    iF34R

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #23
    Maybe bad import? Dunno really lol. Do ANY games work via parallels when using bootcamp? Older games?
     
  24. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #24
    For some reason I did not try and as I said at this moment in time Bootcamp works fine and Parallels works fine so happy with things, seems I just must not mix them :)

    Just tried again and everything within Bootcamp via Parallels is just really laggy, time to stop this now, taking up to much time.
     

Share This Page