Parallels ver.5 with MBP i7 question

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Becko, Apr 24, 2010.

  1. Becko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #1
    Hello, basically I'd like to know how well (or smooth) performs Parallels on a new MBP i7 ? ... since I'll be doing a lot of work and switching on both sides, mac side for CS5 software, and bootcamp side for autodesk (3D SMax and Maya).

    thanks in advance
     
  2. Becko thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #2
    ok.. I'd assume Parallels isn't worth unless you have 8GB of RAM ...
     
  3. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #3
    I have 4GB RAM on my C2D Intel iMac (the maximum it supports), and allocated 1GB RAM to Windows. It works quite well - but those two applications will likely not perform well in Parallels, even if you give the VM 4GB of RAM.
     
  4. karl878 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    CA
    #4
    I also have a C2D iMac with 4GB RAM. This month I installed Parallels 5 with Windows 7, and got the products to work. Installation was easy. On the downside, I couldn't get Parallels/Windows 7 to run the Blue Mars client (3D virtual world platform using CryENGINE™2 powered graphics), so uninstalled Parallels and the Windows 7.

    Set up Apple's Boot Camp instead and installed Windows 7 under Boot Camp. Blue Mars client runs without any problems. Running this software was my main need for Windows 7. So I vote for using Apple's Boot Camp to run Windows 7.
     
  5. Becko thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #5
    Thanks both for the response I will stick with bootcamp then.
     
  6. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    After using both parallels and vmware I went back to boot camp. I do a lot of auto-cad stuff and the mouse wasn't as precise when running in virtual machine. I have used both xp and win 7 64 (currently running boot camp) in a virtual machine. Go with boot camp if your doing 3d stuff. Need as much ram and video memory you can get.
     

Share This Page