Parallels very slow on MacBook Pro 15 Retina

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gpsouza, Nov 21, 2014.

  1. gpsouza macrumors 6502

    gpsouza

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon
    #1
    Hello all!

    Does anyone have problem running Parallels? I have a Late 2013 Macbook Pro 15" Retina, 8gb RAM, i7 blablabla... Parallels 10 (Original) and when using it to ONLY run Word 2013 it's barely usable. I had 3 doc opened, a few PDF's on my Mac and some tabs on safari and it was painful. Extremely lag on both ends (Mac and Windows), Mission control animation was inexistent and switching windows was too painful.

    I know that my Mac may not be the very best out there, but is enough to run these simple tasks.

    Word on parallels is laggy, even if it's the only goddam thing open on my Mac. What should I do?
     
  2. stempsons macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    #2
    hmm, what does activity monitor look like? are you swapping memory? how much memory is allocated to the vm? i'm running parallels 10/windows 7 on both a macbook air and a macbook pro. both machines have 4 gigs ram allocated to the vm's and both vm's are very smooth.
     
  3. ianj1972 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    http://irj972.co.uk
    #3
    no problems here and my Windows Vm does a fair bit of heavy work. I've assigned a couple of cores and 2048MB of RAM to it. No need for more RAM, benches didn't show any improvements.
     
  4. gpsouza thread starter macrumors 6502

    gpsouza

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon
    #4
    Don't know if these pictures answer your question... I don't know what swapping memory is, sorry...
     

    Attached Files:

  5. gpsouza thread starter macrumors 6502

    gpsouza

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon
    #5
    I'll post a video ASAP to show you how it is... But it was not very laggy this time
     
  6. MJedi macrumors 6502a

    MJedi

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #6
    How much free space do you have left on your Mac, and in your Windows VM?
     
  7. sjinsjca macrumors 68000

    sjinsjca

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #7
    I note from your signature that you have a 120GB SSD.

    How much free space do you have after creating the VM?
     
  8. gpsouza thread starter macrumors 6502

    gpsouza

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon
    #8
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/zjonzhq6o91jk1i/laggy.mov?dl=0

    ----------

    Sorry, this is my old signature... I have 167GB free
     
  9. mneblett macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #9
    Late 2013 MBP with essentially the same usage (Win 8.1, Word) on Parallels 9 -- zips right along. One difference: 16GB RAM.
     
  10. MJedi macrumors 6502a

    MJedi

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #10
    Okay. And how much free space do you have in your Windows VM?
     
  11. gpsouza thread starter macrumors 6502

    gpsouza

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon
    #11
    40gb :)

    ----------

    I should have gone for the 16gb :mad:
     
  12. MJedi macrumors 6502a

    MJedi

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #12
    I'm running Windows 7 in Parallels 9 on my 2011 MacBook Air, which only has 4GB of RAM, and it runs fine. I don't know how much more resources Windows 8.1 uses. But looking at how you configured the VM, I think allocating 2GB for it is fine. Have you tried bumping it up to 4GB to see if that makes a difference?

    So space isn't an issue. Have you checked the SSD by running Disk Utility? Go to the First Aid tab and do a Repair Disk.
     
  13. gpsouza thread starter macrumors 6502

    gpsouza

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon
    #13
    Before it had 4gb and it was even worse on Mac side... Disk Utility said my disk is fine.
    Did you see the video I posted here? It's just me or that is really slow?
     
  14. MJedi macrumors 6502a

    MJedi

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #14
    From the video, it didn't seem slow to me.

    Parallels has suggestions you can try:

    My Virtual Machine is extremely slow and consumes about 100% of Mac CPU resources
    http://kb.parallels.com/116263

    How can I improve virtual machine performance on my Mac?
    http://kb.parallels.com/112091

    Other than that, I don't know what else to tell you. Sorry.
     
  15. nerowolfe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #15
    See CPUs : 2 (cores) in picture posted? Try increasing it, 8 is max. Max it at 8 for a start and see if that helps (you'll have to do that while Windows VM is shut down.)
     
  16. gpsouza thread starter macrumors 6502

    gpsouza

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon
    #16
    Really? Maybe I'm just to picky then. Thanks for your help :)

    It made my fans run at full speed :p But it helped a little, thanks
     
  17. nerowolfe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #17
    Naturally. You bet. The other thing you may want to try is tuning PD's VM options for speed if they aren't already.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. gpsouza thread starter macrumors 6502

    gpsouza

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon
    #18
    Mine is exactly like yours :)
     
  19. ianj1972, Nov 21, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2014

    ianj1972 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    http://irj972.co.uk
    #19
    looking at your video at 1:04 you look to be using all your RAM and falling into SWAP which will hurt performance.
    Try a clean boot and only running the VM with 1GB assigned and see if that helps.

    Assigning windows less RAM doesn't seem to hurt performance at 1GB and above IME.

    Ive attached my activity monitor so you can see the difference.....
     

    Attached Files:

  20. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #20
    Did you install Parallels Tools?

    And for the record, since your one doesn't have a dGPU, I'm not surprised it's lagging a fair bit.

    I have a 15" with 2GB GT 750M and it never lags with VMware Fusion (with virtualization tools installed, of course).
     
  21. stempsons macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    #21
    I think the suggestion to reboot and restart the vm without excess OS X programs running would be the best bet. I've been sampling my VM on a macbook air with the VM on an external drive, and it does't not lag at all. In fact its running smoother than the same VM on my loaded rMBP for whatever reason. Both MacBooks are running Yosemite, and Parallels 10.
     
  22. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #22
    Unfortunately, running a VM is a pretty intensive process. I'd bump it up to 3gb of ram and 6-8 cores and see if that helps. Also make sure parallels' tools are installed in windows and you don't have any extra processes running in windows that are eating up resources.
     
  23. gpsouza thread starter macrumors 6502

    gpsouza

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Location:
    Lisbon
    #23

    I'll try that once I get home and post a picture of activity monitor


    I do have parallels tools installed. I didn't think dgpu would be a problem because I'm not running any heavy duty graphic application on windows


    I did it already, but is kinda worthless running only windows. Preview is much better than windows pdf reader, but even preview is lagging without parallels running.


    But maybe if I do that it will have a negative impact on Mac side.


    Thank you all for your help
     
  24. ianj1972 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    http://irj972.co.uk
    #24
    Adding more RAM to the VM won't help as he's already running into host memory issues indicated by the compression being applied. The poor perf is indicative of thrashing of host resources IMHO and not performance starvation within the VM.

    Advice to the OP is try both ways and let us know what fixes it! Good luck!
     
  25. andeify macrumors 6502

    andeify

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    UK

Share This Page