Parallels, Vm..., Bootcamp ,etc.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Dkrtemp, Mar 24, 2008.

1. Dkrtemp macrumors newbie

Hello, ill be buying a mac soon, I guess at the next upgrade or so, I started using macs when i was a child (cuz my dad likes them) but when i got my first own computer i got a pc, why?, cuz the software, anyways, im majoring in computer science and i want my next laptop to be a mac but i will be needing some windows software, this is where my question comes in.

I've heard about Parralles, Vmfusion (or something like that) and bootcamp (i dont know if there's more) for running windows in a mac, and i'll like to know what's the difference between them and which one is better?

2. BNO macrumors member

BNO

Hi,

first you probably posted in the wrong forum, this is related to MacBook Pros and not Software.

But concerning your question: I study Software Engineering and I am working with a Mac since my first day. I'm using Parallels to have Visual Studio and all the standard Windows development stuff up and running and it works just fine.

Parallels and VMWare Fusion are both Virtuallization Products, Boot Camp allows you to install Windows natively on your Mac. Using for example Parallels you can also virtuallize the Boot Camp installation. (I would not do this if it is Vista because of license/activation issues)

My development environments are all stored on a seperate external disk so I have closed environments for nearly everything. If I mess up one setup during development all others are not influenced. From my point of view this is a great advantage.

3. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030