Parallels VM of Yosemite won't boot

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by glenthompson, Jul 24, 2014.

  1. glenthompson macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #1
    Tried to install the public beta of Yosemite into a Parallels VM I set up. I installed Mavericks first then performed an upgrade to Yosemite. When the VM boots all I get on the screen is:

    Darwin Boot loader
    8192 mb

    It has the Macintosh HD icon in the center but clicking on it does nothing.

    Any ideas what may be going on?
     
  2. ojix2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    #2
    me too

    Stuck in the same situation.
    Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac (Build 9.0.24237 Rev.1028877)
     
  3. sualpine macrumors 6502

    sualpine

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    #3
    Of course. They haven't fixed it yet.

    Parallels as a company has had Yosemite just as short a time as any other developer.
     
  4. nexus4life macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    #4
    VMware fusion works. Simply create a new VM with your DMG. Understand that there is no real graphics acceleration (for mac os x guests) so it's not the most enjoyable experience but certainly not the worst.
     
  5. rustyb99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
  6. ojix2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    #6
    http://blogs.parallels.com/consumertech/

    According to the Parallels Blog, the Yosemite public preview is supposed to work fine with the latest version of Parallels Desktop 9.

    I am using the latest version, Build 9.0.24237 Rev.1028877, but still I can't boot the Yosemite public preview.
     
  7. ianj1972 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    http://irj972.co.uk
    #7
    just upgraded a clean Mavericks install with Yosemite public beta and ground to halt at the Darwin boot screen. Bit of a mistake Parallels not being 100% ready for this as potentially there are going to be some people running over to the other side as it touts compatibility out the door......

    Any suggestions / workarounds / time to fix appreciated
     
  8. DJEmergency macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    #8
    Parallels 9 will fix this issue. (I'm running on closed beta and it works great.)
     
  9. glenthompson thread starter macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #9
    It states that Parallels will run under Yosemite but not the opposite. I loaded Yosemite on a spare disk in my Mac Pro 3,1 and it runs fine, although sluggish due to no SDD, but I'm going to be traveling and can't take the MP with me.
     
  10. ojix2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    #10
    QUOTE from Parallels blog:

    Want in on the experience? Make sure you are running the most recent version ofParallels Desktop 9 for Mac, by going into the Parallels Desktop menu and click “Check for Updates”, and check to see if you have the most recent version. The program will automatically prompt you to update Parallels Desktop 9. If you are not currently a Parallels Desktop user, you can take advantage of a free 14-day trial, which will be the most recent version.

    You can also watch Skeeter Harris, Tech Evangelist from Mac Village Media, walk you through his first impressions of Yosemite along with how Windows apps perform seamlessly thanks to Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac on Yosemite.

    :UNQUOTE


    Thank you for the comment.
    The latter part of the blog quoted above and the Youtube video following it, ARE about "Parallels under Yosemite”, but it seems to me that the former part of the blog quoted above is referring to “experiencing Yosemite public beta under the latest version of Parallels 9”

    I may be wrong of course as English is not my first language.
     
  11. GaryPDX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Location:
    Portland, OR USA
    #11
    This is confusing for all languages right now. To many, including me, the idea of continuing to run Mavericks and creating a Parallels Desktop 9 VM that runs Yosemite inside of it seems like a great idea. That way, once we are done with the beta we can just discard the VM and not have to be concerned with repartitioning etc. I absolutely don't care if Parallels Desktop itself will run under Yosemite. I see that as a post public release question. That's just me, though. I could be wrong...
     
  12. Jan1948 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Location:
    Ipswich, Suffolk
    #12
    You are SO right!! Awaiting an update that will get me past this strange new screen!!
     
  13. Zetaprime macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio, US
    #13
    Parallels 9.0.24229.991745 seems to be working for me on Yosemite. Maybe just this particular one is OK with Mavericks.
     
  14. atvusr, Jul 27, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2014

    atvusr macrumors 6502

    atvusr

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #14
    Yosemite Public Beta 1 as VM guest


    I've tried this version with Yosemite as VM guest - no luck. Doesn't work on my MBP, neither with installing Yosemite in a empty VM (doesn't boot, but VMware/VirtualBox does) nor updating the current Mavericks-VM to Yosemite (only the Darwin Bootloader appears).

    Also no really luck for me with VMware Fusion 6.04 and VirtualBox 4.3.14: VMware cannot assign the required 2 GB RAM on my 2 GB machine (but Parallels can) - similar with VirtualBox, it starts anyway, but hangs completely (the whole MBP) after 20 percent of the Yosemite installation. :(
     
  15. burne macrumors 6502

    burne

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Haarlem, the Netherlands
    #15
    The virtual hardware didn't change, so graphics acceleration should work.
     
  16. DJEmergency macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
  17. atvusr, Jul 28, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2014

    atvusr macrumors 6502

    atvusr

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #17

    This means it will only work with Parallels Desktop 10, which could be available in September (like PD9 last year) and Yosemite as Guest-OS will be completely supported not until November (as Mavericks last year, see Parallels Knowledgebase Article-ID: 118806) ..... :rolleyes:


    Edit: My post seems to be a little bit misunderstandable - therefore a clarification below.
     
  18. DJEmergency macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    #18
    huh?
     
  19. nexus4life macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    #19
    ????

    Works with VMWare Fusion as well as Parallels Beta ...
     
  20. myname70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #20
    My Parallels 9 worked fine for first couple of days with 10.10 PB but today something happened and it start appears a working that parallels cannot connect to their server and stops. .. I have updated 10.10 PB over the 10.9.4. .. did permission fix but no help.... any simular issues ?
     
  21. atvusr, Jul 29, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2014

    atvusr macrumors 6502

    atvusr

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #21

    What I meant is that Yosemite as Guest-OS will probably only work with version 10 (or newer) with regard to Parallels Desktop. The Beta of Parallels Desktop 10 seems not to be available for everybody. I guess that Parallels will not make version 9 compatible with Yosemite as Guest-OS, because they need a argument to sell a new version. Yes, Yosemite as Guest-OS runs already now in VMware Fusion 6.04 and VirtualBox 4.3.14 (beside the PD10 Beta). Parallels Desktop 10 could be available in September as final product - like the version 9 last year. But I remember the last year when Mavericks as Guest-OS in PD9 was completely supported in November 2013 (time stamp in the linked Knowledgebase article). Build 9.0.23136 of PD9 (mid October 2013) has for the first time the final version of Mavericks as Guest-OS supported. Allegedly there is a comment on Parallels Facebook page (but I cannot find it at the moment): "The team is working on Guest support but currently it will be not supported until the OS ships as a final product in the fall."
     
  22. myname70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    #22
    Pls could you advise where can I get the parallels 10 beta?
     
  23. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #23
    I'm running the Yosemite beta in a VM using Fusion 6.0.4 on my Mac Mini running Mavericks (10.9.4). I did a clean install, not an upgrade, on the guest system. It's choppy graphics-wise, but it runs.
     
  24. atvusr macrumors 6502

    atvusr

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #24

    My problem is that - as I wrote - VMware Fusion 6.0.4 cannot assign the required 2 GB virtual memory on my 2 GB machine. Without the 2 GB RAM the Yosemite installer complains that the machine has not enough memory. With Parallels Desktop 9 runs Mavericks fine on my 2 GB machine with 2 GB assigned virtual memory .....
     
  25. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #25
    Your physical box only has 2GB RAM and you're trying to assign it all to the virtual machine? I didn't even know you could do that. I thought some RAM had to stay allocated to the host OS.

    Anyway, I have 16GB on my host Mini and 3GB assigned to the Yosemite guest OS....no issues.
     

Share This Page