Parallels w/ Thunderbolt display

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by whdigital, Jun 25, 2012.

  1. whdigital macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #1
    Forgive me if I'm asking an obvious question, but I'm curious about running Parallels w/Win7 (on cMBP) connected to Thunderbolt display. Anything about the TB bus that Windows has problems with somehow?
     
  2. mgodave macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO, USA
    #2
    I can't imagine that windows will know anything about thunderbolt. The Virtual machine presents windows with a generic display, one which windows knows how to use. In addition, parallels will handle the thunderbolt through the host OS (OSX).

    tldr; you should be fine.
     
  3. whdigital thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for the info...

    I did just read on Apple's site that with Bootcamp anyway you can't plug in TB display on the fly as Win doesn't recognize TB bus at anytime past startup. I imagine the same would hold true for Parallels, but that would really suck if it drops it if Parallels is just minimized. :(
     
  4. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #4
    That's only when using Windows as your native OS (via Bootcamp).

    When using it a VM, Windows has no awareness of whether or not it is being displayed through a TB display. Windows displays to a virtual screen created by Parallels. Parallels and OSX handle how that gets displayed on your physical screens, not Windows.
     
  5. whdigital thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #5
    Thanks, was looking for justification of dual use for TB display and that does it! :D
     

Share This Page