Parallels & Windows 7: One licence per computer?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by doxavita, May 25, 2011.

  1. doxavita macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #1
    I currently have Parallels and Windows 7 installed in my 13" MacBook Pro. If I wanted to install those programs in my 27" iMac I would need to buy an additional license for both programs, right? (one license per computer, is it?)
     
  2. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #2
    Duff-Man says....Yes. Operating systems (as far a non-corporate or site license user is concerned) are almost always single computer unless otherwise stated, like Apple's "Family Pack" for instance. As for Parallels, it is also single computer per software key http://www.parallels.com/about/eula/ - it's all in there....oh yeah!
     
  3. doxavita thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #3
    OK, however, if I uninstalled them from my MacBook Pro, would they work in my iMac? Or might I face activation issues?
     
  4. McRCN macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia
    #4
    Technically, you must uninstall them from your MBP since you can only have them on 1 computer. If it balks about it on install, you might have to call it in to activate. Either way it should not be a big deal.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    You should be able to move the VM windows image from your old computer to your new computer instead of reinstalling windows and reactivating it. I'm not sure if Parallels requires activation but you probably should uninstall it first.

    Because your license for both products is a single computer you have to uninstall/remove them from your other computer.
     

Share This Page