Parallels / windows to mac

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by 262Runnr, Aug 22, 2012.

1. 262Runnr macrumors regular

262Runnr

MAC newbie here!....I am crossing over to the "dark side" and I just ordered my first MBP :)
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/FD102LL/A/refurbished-macbook-pro-29ghz-dual-core-intel-i7

I am presently using a PC running Win 7 Ultimate and need to transfer a few of my key window applications over to my new MBP when it arrives next week ( specifically Intuit Quickbooks Pro, MS Office, Adobe CS 5.5 and Quicken ). I was told I could accomplish this with Parallels switch to MAC edition. Can someone tell me how this exactly works? Do I first have to install Windows 7 on the MBP, then install the above applications? How do the two computers connect? Sorry for all the questions but I'd like to prepare myself ahead of time...
    Thanks in advance.

2. kjlake macrumors member

I'm not sure exactly how parallels does it, but vmware (fusion) has a converter that will create a virtual machine that is a clone of your existing computer, assuming that it can be seen on a network. You don't need to install windows ahead of time (you are using the OS from the target machine).

I would imagine that parallels has a similar tool.

Hope this helps

Kev

3. stevelam macrumors 65816

4. kjlake macrumors member

you're right - it probably wouldn't be great, but with 2 cores allocated, you might get acceptable performance. After all that is pretty subjective from a user perspective.

5. MaxPower72 macrumors 6502

MaxPower72

why don't get the Mac Version instead? running them on a virtual machine will add another layer to the OS that will have to run the VM and the application

6. 262Runnr thread starter macrumors regular

262Runnr

So how does the new MBP actually connect to the Windows machine? Is there a cable or do both machines need to be connected on a home network? Also, since this is my first MAC will my windows home network recognize the MAC??