Parallels with Windows 7...boot camp?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by SR 7, Nov 5, 2009.

  1. SR 7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #1
    Ok, I installed Parallels 4.0 on my macbook today and installed XP on it but I nevr did that "boot camp" thing (I am new to Macs, no more hten 8 months on one). Do I need to run that and partition my HD or its not needed?

    Also, can I run Windows 7 on fusion or Parallels 4.0/5?
    Do I have to pay 79 for Parallels Desktop 5 if I have 4 already?
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    What do you intend to do with Windows (XP or 7)? Games, Business Software, ...

    If you bought Parallels 4 recently, why not just take advantage of the free upgrade to 5. Regardless of how you use it it will be faster than 4.

    B
     
  3. = bluntman = macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #3
    I am a relative Mac newbie too...

    If you are running Parallel Desktop you don't need to do the "Boot Camp thing" or partition your hard drive. Parallel lets you run a Windows environment (virtually) within the Mac environment.

    With Boot Camp you would have to set aside a partition of your hard drive for Windows and everytime you boot you would choose between either the Windows or OSX environment. In order to switch between the environments you would have to reboot.

    I purchased Parallel 4 in September 2009. To upgrade to Parallel 5 I had to pay an extra $40. Apparently, if you purchased Parallel 4 on or after October 1, 2009 your upgrade to Parallel 5 is free.
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    The problem is that the two are not mutually exclusive. If you Boot Camp you can still use Parallels and VMWare with the same Windows installation.

    Reasons to Boot Camp:
    • Performance (Games, heavy duty graphics/engineering software, etc...)
    • Hardware support (You may have some hardware that is supported under Windows but won't work under Parallels/Fusion)

    If you don't need direct access to the hardware under Windows, Parallels or Fusion are fine for most uses.

    B
     
  5. SR 7 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #5
    What do you mean by using Hardware? How exactly do you use hardware? loll isn't it like what makes the computer run...

    Also, since PC's get so many viruses and Macs don't, using Parallel, boot camp, Fuzion 3.0 etc that has a windows OS on it, is it possible to get a virus and damage the HD/macbook hardware?
     
  6. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #6
    In a "Virtual" machine, you're using "Virtual" hardware. It's basically a copycat of what you have, then its runs within a "Virtual" environment. Performance is suffered because you have to utilize 2 different operating systems, at the same time, sharing the same resource. It's like having 2 bodies but sharing the same heart, lungs, stomach, brain, etc.

    And hardware is a lot more deeper then "it makes it run".

    In a virtual machine, it won't affect the drive or hardware. At best, the virtual system just dies and won't boot up anymore. Under boot camp, it can have an affect, but these viruses and spyware and adware are so hard to get (at least for me) these days, you kinda have to be really stupid to press "accept" on everything to get it.
     
  7. SR 7 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #7
    oh ok thanks a lot.
    PS: great way of explaining things btw!
     
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    We'd still be able to help you better if you told us what you wanted to run Windows for. If performance will be an issue you definitely want to use Boot Camp (at least sometimes).

    B
     
  9. SR 7 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #9
    Nothing too crazy, just basic stuff...maybe play Sims 3 (not sure yet) but that or just watching a movie or osmething once in a while.
     
  10. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #10
    Aren't both of those things easier done natively in OS X?

    They can both be graphics and CPU intensive and can thus be hindered by virtualization. (With the exception of DRM protected Windows Media VLC plays pretty much anything. And there is a Sims 3 port to Mac OS.)

    Basically it really depends on if you find the performance in a virtual machine acceptable or not. If not, it'll work better in Boot Camp.

    B
     
  11. SR 7 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #11
    also, I installed Winzip and firefox on my Parallels 4.0 with XP...where does whatevre I save get saved onto? my MacHD? and where can I find these files on my MacHD if thats where they get saveD?
     
  12. SR 7 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #12
    what you mean Port for sims 3? I have been trying to find a way to make that work on a mac...haven't found one yet.
     
  13. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #13
    It gets saved into a virtual hard drive, it won't show up on the mac side, unless you linked your folders with parallels.

    There's a mac edition of Sims 3.
     
  14. SR 7 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #14
    So it isn't taking up any space on my macbook? whats a virtual HD btw? like...what does it mean?

    So i can save 3 gigs of stuff for example and it wont take up any space on my mac HD? it goes to teh Virtual HD but whats a virtual hd?
     
  15. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #15
    A virtual hard drive isn't made from thin air. It does take up space, but it takes it up as a "file" within the OS X, instead of a partition.
     
  16. SR 7 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #16
    Thats what i was asking...where it goes, which is a file on OS X.
    how do i find that file? whats it named/under? thanks
     

Share This Page