Parents accidentally loaded start up disks on new IMac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MariaAZ, Jan 11, 2008.

  1. MariaAZ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #1
    They didn't realize that all the software and OS was already loaded. What will happen? There was no way to stop the loading halfway through. Need advice.
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    What do you mean by "loading"? ...Did they perform an upgrade, or archive & install, or erase & install?

    Either way, it's not going to hurt anything.
     
  3. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #3
    If you were using Time Machine you could go back to the last full backup and reinstall. Otherwise if I reading this correctly your parents already re-installed Leopard?..
     
  4. MariaAZ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #4
    Yes... I believe they Re-installed Leopard, but now that they are in the middle of everything it is telling them that they have 2 hours to go. (just on the first disk) Should they just continue to load the second disk as well? (I am not at their house to see what the disks actually include) I am just afraid that they are going to screw up the entire computer.
     
  5. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    Yes, they should complete the installation process.
     
  6. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #6
    Worst case senario: they'll just have to do an Erase & Install and waste a little more time.

    I take it that the iMac is brand new?
     
  7. MariaAZ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #8
    Thanks Eric. Will the computer act the same as if they never touched it? Or should they expect any problems?
     
  8. MariaAZ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #9
    Yes. This IMac is brand new!!! Just delivered this afternoon. That is why I am so worried.
     
  9. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #10
    Just delivered?

    I wouldn't worry.I thought you may have lost a lot of old data..
     
  10. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #11
    Don't be worried. Like I said, if this extra install does somehow screw up the OS then just have them pop the startup disc in again and choose "Erase & Install." Once it's finished it'll be like they just turned it on for the first time.
     
  11. MariaAZ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #12
    Peace... thank you! Peace is what I feel now! :)
     
  12. MariaAZ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #13
    Thanks Quarter! I will let you all know how it turns out.
     
  13. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #14
    That's what we're here for and I'd love to hear! Good luck walking them through it ... I know how that can be with parents! ;)
     
  14. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #15
    No worries at all if there is no data on there!
     
  15. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #16
    Although, depending on the option they chose, there may now be a folder named "previous systems" located in Macintosh HD.

    You can delete this, if it's there.
     
  16. MariaAZ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #17
    Just wanted to let everyone know that everything is fine. Looks good as new! They definitely ruined the out of box experience, but they have smiles on their faces now! Thank you for all the help!
     

Share This Page