Partition Error

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by nYgel, Oct 9, 2010.

  1. nYgel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    #1
    I've searched and found a couple threads about this issue but I have yet to fix the problem. Sorry if this is a common issue, im just having a hell of a time trying to fix it.

    I had windows vista installed but suddenly the audio decided to become faulty, after spending a day trying to fix it i realized I have a windows 7 install disc so i might as well just replace vista with windows 7. I didnt take care of vista or ever register it so it became quite a task to upgrade so i just deleted the partition and went to create a new one and just do a full install of windows 7.

    I made the partition but the wrong format, so i removed it through boot camp assistant and created another, except now it keeps giving me the "back up the disk and use disk utility to format it as a single Mac OS Extended (Journaled) volume. Restore your information to the disk and try using boot camp assistant again"

    Now, I'd love to do this, except I have no idea what I'm doing and WHY this error has occured. After becoming frustrated I switched from my imac to my macbook pro and received the same error when trying to create a partition.

    So any help on exactly what I need to do would be a HUGE help. I only use windows for music production (I know, seems backwards, but I use Sony Acid and FL Studio so I'm stuck with Windows)
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    Don't use Boot Camp Assistant.

    Just insert the Windows 7 disk and boot holding Alt/Option every time you need to boot to Windows.

    If you are concerned about your current partition table, post screen shots and we can let you know if you are good to go or not.

    B
     
  3. nYgel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    #3
    but if i just boot from windows it asks me what partition to use for installation and I only have my Mac HD. Don't i need to create a NTFS partition prior to installing windows 7?
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Run Disk Utility, highlight the drive and select the partition tab. Post a screenshot. If Boot Camp Assistant is giving you that message you either have an extra partition or free space on the drive.

    B
     
  5. nYgel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Yes, drag the lower right corner of the Macintosh HD partition upwards to free up space after it. Create an MS-DOS FAT partition in that space. Label it BOOTCAMP. Reboot holding Alt/Option with the W& disc in the drive. Replace the BOOTCAMP partition with an NTFS partition during the W7 install as per Step 3 of the Boot Camp instructions.

    http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/Boot_Camp_Install-Setup_10.6.pdf

    B
     
  7. nYgel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    Reboot with your OS X install disc, launch Disk Utility and verify and repair your Macintosh HD partition and try again from there.

    B
     
  9. nYgel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    #9
    thank you very much, everything is working as it should now.
     

Share This Page