Partition size advice

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Bob Coxner, Aug 29, 2011.

1. Bob Coxner macrumors 6502a

I'm totally new to OS X. I want to add Bootcamp to my new MBA 13/4/128 but I don't have a good idea for the Windows partition size.

I've cleaned my ssd as much as possible and I have 105.92gb free. I don't plan on putting much on the Windows partition. Probably no more than 20gb (over and above Windows itself).

Suggestions?

2. speacock macrumors member

It depends which version of Windows

A clean W7 install is about 5-7GB but can grow much bigger once you put on things like service packs, 15-20GB is not uncommon. XP on the other hand is much smaller - say 2-3GB or 7-8GB with SP. On top of this Windows will want 1.5x the amount of RAM you have for a pagefile; you can cut this right back if you wish but some applications may perform poorly or report memory errors.

Ideally you want to slipstream all the updates and fixes into your Windows build so that it is as small as possible (look up nLite for an easy way of doing this), that way you can keep the Windows build as small as possible, but you will spend time creating it.

You may be better off running Windows in a virtual machine rather than using Bootcamp, it's alot more flexible and much less costly in terms of disk space, what you spend on a copy of VMware fusion or similar you'll save in time and diskspace.

3. Quad5Ny macrumors 6502a

Quad5Ny

4. Bob Coxner thread starter macrumors 6502a

Sorry. I should have specified that I would be using Win 7 Pro. I hadn't really thought about whether to use 32 or 64. 32 bit is fine for my needs, if that's an option.

----------