Partition Time Capsule-can someone help me?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by gusious, Aug 19, 2008.

  1. gusious macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #1
    Hi.I have a problem when i partition a Time Capsule.

    I run disk utility and then i select TC.After that i split it in 2 parts.Everything is ok.

    But when i try to backup,i connect to my TC which shows up in the side bar, run a file something like a dmg and then the 2 new volumes appear.So i open System Prefs-->Time Machine and when i try to find the two volumes i find one that it's from the partition which is the one of the 2 volumes(i found out because it said in the right 799GB or something) and another one that says nothing.Only time capsule.


    What's wrong?

    Can someone help me please?:(
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    I suspect the problem to be that both volumes aren't marked as shared on the Time Capsule. This can be fixed with AirPort Utility - go to the disks section, after selecting the Time Capsule and authenticating.
     
  3. gusious thread starter macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #3
    What?I didn't quite get that.So i'm on Airport Utility double click on TC and then move on to the disk section.Then what?
     
  4. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #4
    There should be a sharing tab - click that, then make sure both volumes are checked. (I'm not at a Mac right now so I'm going from memory. Apologies if my memory is incorrect.)
     
  5. gusious thread starter macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #5
    On disk Utility there are tabs only when you double click the TC.There i see a tab called Disks.I click that and i have 2 more tabs.One called Disks(again) and another one called file sharing.Which one?
     
  6. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #6
    File Sharing's the one you need.
     
  7. gusious thread starter macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #7
    And do what?I have enabled file sharing.
    Secure shared disks is on "whith time capsule password",airport disks guest acces "not allowed".

    So...What now?
     
  8. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #8
    Hmm... check the disks tab then.
     
  9. gusious thread starter macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #9
    Well here it has a window that says Time Capsule Disk and when you click it underneath it has Time capsule which says Capacity,Available,used,users.

    An at the bottom :"click disconnect all users if you want to unplug a disk".

    I am sure that the last one is not what we need:p
     
  10. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #10
    In that case, I don't think I understand your problem correctly... as that's obviously not the cause.
     
  11. gusious thread starter macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #11
    Ok.Then i assume that by clicking the button in the back of Time Capsule i erase the partition.Can you guide me on how to do this correctly?

    Or someone else?
     

Share This Page