Partition

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by willie45, Nov 25, 2007.

1. willie45 macrumors regular

Hi

I am running Leopard and using Time machine onto a 500Gb external drive. I don't really want time machine to take up the whole of the exernal drive so I thought I would partition it. I have never done this before and have two questions:

1 is the disk utility quite capable of doing this easily and correctly? It seems very simple to use and almost too good to be true.

2 The time machine help says they recommend using the whole of a dedicate disk for back up. Will it have any adverse effect on my back up if I partition the disk I use?

These questions are probably very naive but I have not much experience of the mac system and not a huge amount of computing knowledge in general.

Willie

2. M@lew macrumors 68000

M@lew

1) Disk Utility can do this fine.

2) Depends how much space you partition, but generally for Time Machine, the more space you have, the farther back your back-up's will go. So the more space you give it, the better.

3. willie45 thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks m@lew :)

I will probably give it around 250Gb. I had picked up that something like Diskwarrior was much more robust and wondered if that was to be preferred. I will go ahead with Disk Utility now.

Willie

4. maccompaq macrumors 65816

maccompaq

Be aware that if you partition your drive, everything will be erased, but you probably know that.

5. acearchie macrumors 68040

acearchie

This is the current set up I have and it works flawlessly!

Continue with confidence!

6. r88my macrumors regular

As a side issue, does anyone know of a utility that lets you partition an external drive without losing the data? I have a 500GB external drive which i want to use with time machine too but it is holding data, which i cant copy anywhere because i don't have a second hard drive sufficiently big enough! :eek: Thanks

7. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak