Partitioning an external HDD

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Blackened Apple, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. Blackened Apple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #1
    Hey everyone,

    I have an external 1 TB hard drive, half of which is filled up with a FAT-formatted partition and the other half is unallocated space. I wanted to create an HFS+ partition on that unallocated half, but I can't seem to do it using Disk Utility. The '+' that should be available is grayed out. How can I do this?

    I want to have half of the disk of general purpose usage and the other half for Time Machine backups. Is this not possible?

    Cheers
     
  2. Partron22 macrumors 68000

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #2
    Have you clicked on the picture of the unallocated space? The '+' stays gray until something on the partition diagram is selected.
     
  3. dba415 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #3
    Try extending your used space to fill up the entire drive, once that's done, try partitioning the space you need.
     
  4. Blackened Apple thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #4
    Hmm, I just noticed something. It says "You can't resize the partitions on this disk because it uses the Master Boot Record partition scheme." Has that got anything to do with me having formatted it under Windows? If so, is there any way to make it work properly without having to move all the data that's inside it?


    Cheers
     
  5. Tander macrumors 6502a

    Tander

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #5
    I have one of my externals setup exactly like this. 1 for general purpose the other fro TM backups.

    If the one side is unallocated - just go to the 'Erase' tab, select the partition that is unallocated and choose HFS format and click erase - should do the job.
     
  6. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    "It says "You can't resize the partitions on this disk because it uses the Master Boot Record partition scheme." Has that got anything to do with me having formatted it under Windows? If so, is there any way to make it work properly without having to move all the data that's inside it?"

    My guess is, "no".

    Your only option may be to:
    1. Copy all the data on the drive to another source of storage
    2. Re-intialize the drive using Disk Utility
    3. Partition as required with Disk Utility
    4. Re-copy your data back
     
  7. Blackened Apple thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012

Share This Page