Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jdv

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 18, 2007
Hi,

What are the considerations partitioning large external RAIDs? I've just put 2TB drives in my three RAID 5 boxes so I'm thinking now of how best to organise them. I'm a photographer and film maker working with large files in Photoshop and Final Cut. This is what I've got now:

Boot/application drive,
6TB internal RAID 0 for fast still image work,
18TB SAS run off an Areca 1680x mainly for fast video processing work,
7.5TB eSATA and a 20TB eSATA boxes run off a HighPoint 2314 for backup and archiving.

Should I partition? If so, in what way?

Cheers,

Jonathan

Sean Dempsey

macrumors 68000
Aug 7, 2006
Partitioning makes no sense in your scenario.

Unless you need to run bootcamp, or want to be able to format only a portion of your raid, there's no point.

I could maybe see someone partitioning if they wanted to be able to defragment every few weeks, but your files are so large it doesn't matter.

So no, don't partition.

matteusclement

macrumors 65816
Jan 26, 2008
victoria
Hi,

What are the considerations partitioning large external RAIDs? I've just put 2TB drives in my three RAID 5 boxes so I'm thinking now of how best to organise them. I'm a photographer and film maker working with large files in Photoshop and Final Cut. This is what I've got now:

Boot/application drive,
7.5TB eSATA and a 20TB eSATA boxes run off a HighPoint 2314 for backup and archiving.

Cheers,

Jonathan

Holy mother of god. That is ALOT of storage!!
I thought my 12TB was over the top....

dknightd

macrumors 6502
Mar 7, 2004
I think you should partition - not the raid, but where the raid is, and how it used.
Backup disk on a local machine is a smart thing. Even better, if possible, is a second backup on a different machine (ideally in a different location)

nanofrog

macrumors G4
May 6, 2008

Boot/application drive,