Partitions?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by HappyVirus, Aug 28, 2008.

1. HappyVirus macrumors member

Hi people! I'm new to this MacWorld, and I came along a few questions.

I recently purchased a MBP (got this baby yesterday ^^) and I wanted to use the dual boot, as some of my programs didn't have OSX support (such a shame...)

I saved/printed the "how-to-guide" for the Bootcamp, since it was recommended.

When I came across the partitioning, thats where I came up with these questions.

1. Do I have to have some kind of "minimum" size for the partition?
    - I only need small space for the "window" side, as I only need to run a few applications, so I don't need a HUGE space

2. Any other things I should worry about? I know there are some "virtual" window program, but after reading the pro/con for those, I figured the slower running windows wouldn't be worth it, as I will be running two totally separate/different kind of programs between OSX and vista ultimate.

3. Does the Windows support the "multi-tap" for the touchpad?

Thanks!

2. richard.mac macrumors 603

richard.mac

1. the minimum is 5 GB but i would recommend 10 GB or more as a Windows XP install uses up to 3 GB and you want some space for virtual memory. i would imagine Vista would take up even more.

2. youve answered your own question.

3. it supports two-finger scroll and two-finger right click but not horizontal scroll on the trackpad or Mighty Mouse.

3. HappyVirus thread starter macrumors member

Well the virtual/dualboot thing was just one of the things I knew ^^ I was wondering if there are "other" things in general.. haha thanks tho! I'm going to be installing vista 32bit Ultimate, as I can't find the 64bit install CD and I don't want to go through all the boxes...(I just moved)

I'm guessing about 20-30gb partition should be MORE than enough...

4. CWallace macrumors 601

CWallace