Parts that apple uses

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by benwizkid, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. benwizkid macrumors member

    benwizkid

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #1
    What do you guys think about the fact that apple uses foxconn motherboards?
     
  2. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #2
    um, don't they use Nvidia, logic boards, maybe also a few intel ones. or are you asking what we think about them manufacturing in China like everyone else?
     
  3. benwizkid thread starter macrumors member

    benwizkid

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #3
    I think I was wrong with the motherboard part but I am pretty sure that they use foxconn parts. Some friends told me that was a big negative so I thought i'd see what you guys thought.
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    Some of my friends tell me your friends are wackos. :rolleyes:
     
  5. benwizkid thread starter macrumors member

    benwizkid

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
  6. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #6
    foxconn is one of the companies that apple uses to assemble at least their iPods and iPhones, maybe some of their computers as well. Foxconn doesn't design any of their own parts, as far as them being a negative, it's the same as using any other company in china, it doesn't help with US jobs, but it keeps prices lower.
     
  7. Funkatronic macrumors 6502

    Funkatronic

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    Pune, India
    #7
    You are aware apart from the Logic board (which yes IIRC Foxconn does produce) Foxconn also produces most of the Dell, HP, Sony Boards?

    Not to mention the most of the iDevice line, the PS3, and the Xbox 360?
     
  8. iJohnHenry macrumors P6

    iJohnHenry

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    On tenterhooks
    #8
    And if a new product is leaked, people are shot. ;) :rolleyes:
     
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    So what's your point.

    In other news, apple uses intel CPUs
     
  10. Mousse macrumors 68000

    Mousse

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    Flea Bottom, King's Landing
    #10
    I knew this since 1998 when the movie Armageddon came out. Actually, I knew long before, but I still like this quote.:)

    Lev Andropov: It's stuck, yes?
    Watts: Back off! You don't know the components!
    Lev Andropov: Components. American components, Russian Components, ALL MADE IN TAIWAN!
     
  11. benwizkid thread starter macrumors member

    benwizkid

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    #11
    I was actually wondering how long they have been using foxconn boards for. Is foxconn a good company?
     
  12. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #12
    I'm not sure how long they have been manufacturing in China, I think they moved over there when they were making the G4s, I know the G3s that I have weren't made in china. Foxconn is a decent company, they've had some accusations of poor treatment of workers, but they have been working on improving conditions.
     
  13. wvuwhat macrumors 65816

    wvuwhat

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #13
    Haven't heard of a suicide at Foxconn in about 3 months. Did the employee's get a 10 cent a week salary increase or something?
     

Share This Page