Pascal Card Not Found in Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Hps1, Apr 27, 2017.

  1. Hps1, Apr 27, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2017

    Hps1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    #1
    I received a non-flashed 1080 Ti today. Inserted into slot 1 on a 2012 5,1, installed the latest beta driver (378.05.05.05f02) but the only card shown/found is the GT120 in slot 4. What did I miss?

    ...yes, I did connect a power supply. It is powered by a Be Quiet 850. The fan is blowing and the logo is lit up on the side.

    What rookie step have I missed?

    Update: the power supply ATX connector needed jumping.
     
  2. DearthnVader macrumors 6502

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #2
    Did you set OS X to use the Web Driver, from the nVidia Control Panel?
     
  3. Hps1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    #3
    Indeed! Web driver is selected. Very odd
     

    Attached Files:

  4. DearthnVader macrumors 6502

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #4
    1. Try another slot.
    2. Try without the GT120
     
  5. Hps1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    #5
    It makes no difference what slot the card is in nor whether the GT120 is inserted.

    Should it just show up no worries?
     
  6. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    When I got my TitanXp, my 5,1 had a gtx 680 mac edition, I just updated the driver to the new pascal one, swapped the cards and away I went.

    I hope that there is no trickery needed if you install a pascal fresh without having a modern nvidia already setup.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  8. Hps1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    #8
    It doesn't matter if the GT120 is plugged in or not...

    Seems this is a power issue: with the auxiliary power completely unplugged the 1080 logo and fan are still on. What magic saying must be uttered to get the aux power on? Yes, it is definitely plugged into the wall socket!
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    Why not try the internal mini 6pin? As long as you don't stress the card, it shouldn't be an issue to just boot the card with 8pin from the 6pin source.
     
  10. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #10
    You have to jump two pins on the ATX power plug to have the power supply supply power.

    See step 5:
    http://www.wikihow.com/Check-a-Power-Supply
     
  11. Hps1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    #11
    '790 - I had thought of that but since the intention is to shove two more 1080s in there, this needs to work.

    Mango - I was just reading about this and of course the BQ ATX wires are all black. Manual says it is 15 and 16, going to give that a go. If you don't hear back from me the house went up in smoke and my missus is probably on the way to the life insurance cash-in place.

    Ta
    --- Post Merged, Apr 27, 2017 ---
    Well, unfortunately for my missus, that totally worked and did not set fire to anything yet.

    Cheers guys.
    HP
     

Share This Page