passage from 4.0.1 to 4.2.1...confusion

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by sillygoose1988, Dec 1, 2010.

  1. sillygoose1988 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #1
    Hello!

    i own an iphone 3gs old bootrom baseband 5.13.04 on ios 4.0.1 and unlocked.

    I would like to know if it is possible to upgrade to 4.2.1 jailbreak and unlock?

    read reports saying i have to go to 6.15 baseband or something...confused me a bit!

    Is there any step by step tutorial? or could any of you be kind enough to explain me how to upgrade and all these things?

    many thanks
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Since you're already on unlockable baseband I'd wait for an updated pwnage release so you can update to custom 4.2.1 and not have to deal or install the ipad baseband on your device.
    From the Dev Teams site:
    SIMPLIFIED ROUTE #1 :

    1.Read and fully understand the warning below.
    2.If you have an old-bootrom 3GS and are already unlockable but want to get to 4.2.1, please wait til we release an “unofficial” bundle for you. Read no further.
     
  3. sillygoose1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #3
    thanks a million!
    any idea when this update will be available?
     
  4. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #4
    If the OP has a Mac, he/she can use the new PwnageTool to upgrade to 4.2.1 and save the baseband. They will just have to install the partial 3gs bundles for the old-bootrom that the Dev-Team put out.

    "Update #3: For those Mac users with an old-bootrom 3GS who really know what they’re doing, here’s a minimal 3GS 4.2.1 bundle that will get you to 4.2.1 without updating your baseband. Be sure to uncheck “Activate the iPhone” using Expert mode. To actually jailbreak after you’ve restored with the help of that bundle, please use redsn0w. If you don’t know how to drop a bundle into PwnageTool.app, please hold off on 4.2.1 until it’s untethered for everyone (or wait for a nice tutorial from somewhere like http://iclarified.com)"
     
  5. sillygoose1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #5
    the "for those who know what they're doing" kinda bugs me here...i do own a mac but wouldn't say that i know exactly what im doing!
     
  6. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #6
    To install those bundles on the Mac for PwnageTool is actually quite easy. But since you don't have a Mac, unfortunately you have to wait.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Nice.
    I hope he's one of those "who really know what they’re doing" :D
     
  8. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #8
    He doesn't have a Mac (above post). Has to wait.
     
  9. sillygoose1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
  10. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #10
    I have the same phone as u and upgraded like 2 days ago. Just follow the instructions and you will be set.
     
  11. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #11
    Oh. Must of went over my head. Okay.

    To install the bundles, first download them from Update #3 on the iPhone Dev Blog (first post Ultra-Recycle).

    Download the new PwnageTool.

    Right click on Pwnage > Show Package Contents

    Contents > Resources > Then drop the bundle in "Firmware Bundles" folder. Good to go after that.

    Then when you're making the custom ipsw be sure to uncheck "activate iphone". You have to use an official sim-card to activate. And click "no" when it asks to update your baseband to the iPad 6.15.00
     
  12. sillygoose1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #12
    thanks i will try that. i do need to hacktivate though..and it says that i should uncheck activate on pwnage tool...
     
  13. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #13
    You have to Redsn0w afterwards (forgot to mention that). I think this new version of Redsn0w "hactivates", I'm not sure. In Redsn0w use the custom ipsw you made to jailbreak.
     
  14. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #14
    Yes check off activate on pwnage. Redsnow will hacktivated it after. But do try to find an official SIM though, borrow one, buy one whatever.
     
  15. sillygoose1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #15
    oh then i guess i'll be waiting a little bit more
     
  16. sillygoose1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #16
    original carrier is french and i've no french simcard lying around here in ireland. i'll wait and a wee bit more then

    thanks to all of you for your help though
     
  17. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #17
    You're welcome. Redsn0w will hactivate your iPhone.
     
  18. sillygoose1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #18
    will that mess the phone or something?
     
  19. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    You can always find one on ebay and use it every time you need to restore so your push and everything else works fine.
    Even prepaid or inactive sims will do the trick, as long as its from the company the phone its locked to.
     
  21. sillygoose1988 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #21
    thanks a million for your help guys! its all much clearer now!
     

Share This Page