Passcode lock - 15 minutes?

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by Legion103, Sep 20, 2014.

  1. Legion103 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #1
    I know on iOS7 I was able to have my phone sit locked for 14 minutes, without using a passcode...I had it set for 15 minutes...

    Can you do that in iOS8, I have the 6+
     
  2. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #2
    Same options in relation to that still exist.
     
  3. Legion103 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #3
    how do I get there?

    It says require password

    only option I have is immediately
     
  4. Mac7 macrumors 6502a

    Mac7

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #4
    I don't see any other option either
     
  5. Legion103 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
  6. madsci954 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    If you're using Touch ID, immediately is your only option.
     
  7. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #7
    You mean the differnce with TouchID. Once that is enabled then it's immediate in the sense that it just takes a touch.
     
  8. 41qser macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #8
    If you have Touch ID enabled for log in, iOS 8 restricts you to "immediate" and removes the time options.

    The auto-lock time options still remain.

    I'm completely confused why this is necessary. I shouldn't have to "code in" -- fingerprint or passcode -- within X number of minutes if I don't want to.

    This needs to be fixed, unless there is some convincing reason not to.
     
  9. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #9
    General > Settings > Auto-Lock

    You can set it to 1,2,3,4,5 or never.
     
  10. Phoboss macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #10
    Like said before, with TouchID enabled, immediatly is the only option, which bugs me as well.
     
  11. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #11
    I posted the same thing but just got the usual "its for touchid"
    Its bloody annoying
     
  12. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #12
    The idea is that with TouchID it's essentially seamless--you would typically press the home button to turn the screen on and that very act would get the TouchID and unlock the phone so it's almost like its not even locked.
     
  13. KoolAid-Drink macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #13
    Exactly. That's what I do - get my (locked) 5s out of my pocket, hit the home button, and boom I'm at the home screen.
     

Share This Page