iPhone Passcode must be changed within 60 minutes

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by noobinator, Aug 24, 2015.

  1. noobinator macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    Just got this pop-up on my phone. It made me put in my old (6 digit) passcode and create a new 4 digit passcode. I'm running the newest public beta. I thought iOS 9 is supposed to be 6 digit passcodes? I've never seen this message in all my years of iPhones and iOS.

    Anyone ever see this?
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    What were you doing at the time as I've never seen the screen your referring too.
     
  3. theshoehorn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #3
    Do you perhaps have an Exchange account that's managed by work, or similar?
     
  4. noobinator thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    Nothing. I unlocked my phone (via fingerprint) and the message popped up.

    Nope. Just the beta profile.
     
  5. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
  6. noobinator thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    What do you mean?
     
  7. MuGeN PoWeR macrumors 68000

    MuGeN PoWeR

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #7
    i have ran into the same thing. i have done it twice. i dont know what does it mean!
     
  8. xero9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    #8
    This happened on my wife's iPhone, iOS 8.4 a few weeks ago.

    She does not have Exchange, she simply uses the phone to text, play games, etc. I simply turned her passcode off, and back on with the same one.
     
  9. noobinator thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    It's just weird that iOS9 is all new mandatory 6 digit passcodes then it asks me to change it to 4?
     
  10. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #10
    Perhaps the 6 digit one is just for initial purposes and then it's based on what you have actually set up. Perhaps it's a bug/glitch of some sort (we are still dealing with a beta). Perhaps it depends on what prompts this dialog to come up to begin with.
     
  11. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #11
  12. XTheLancerX macrumors 68000

    XTheLancerX

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    NY, USA
    #12
    6 digit isn't mandatory, when setting a passcode you tap "passcode options" and select "Custom Alphanumeric Code" "Custom Numeric Code" "4-Digit Numeric Code" or "6-Digit Numeric Code". One of these options will be missing if you are already using one of said options for a passcode.
     
  13. iwayne macrumors 6502

    iwayne

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Santa Clara, California
    #13
    I had the same pop up. Asked me to change my password. Already had a 6 digit and ended up changing it to another 6 digit. Very annoying. Also have been kicked out of iCloud 4 times in the past 24 hrs. Keeps asking me to re-enter my iCloud password into the phone.
     
  14. securespace macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    #14
    It is a malware - close Safari completely (very important), go to Settings, Safari and clear all history, cookies and website data. Hard reset your phone. Then the message will be gone!
     
  15. BasicGreatGuy, Jun 3, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2016

    BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #15
    It's not malware.

    Edited to add: Just because you took the steps you did, that doesn't mean that the problem was malware induced.
     
  16. Arran macrumors 68040

    Arran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    #16
    Well, if it was your malware, you would say that, wouldn't you? :p

    Joking aside, what is it, exactly? Can you quote any authoritative, independent sources? I googled around a few months ago when I saw the popup on my phone, but there was nothing conclusive I could find.

    Thinking about it, if it was possible to fake such a popup via Safari and maybe even a fake passcode change dialog, it would be a great way to harvest passcodes from unsuspecting users.

    And since many phones have ApplePay setup now...
     
  17. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #17
    But does that bring up another pop-up to change the passcode, or simply take you to iOS settings for passcode where it can be changed (where nothing outside of iOS itself could gather any information about anything). And if it's another non-iOS pop-up somehow, it wouldn't actually change the actual passcode then, and we'd see people saying that they changed their passcode but the new one wasn't working and the old one still worked. Furthermore, even if passcode information was gathered somehow, doesn't seem like it would be of much use unless someone would actually have access to the device itself, in which case it would have to be specifically targeted "malware" by someone who would have access to the device, and that just seems way too specific to really be realistic on such a scale.
     
  18. Arran macrumors 68040

    Arran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    #18
    We'll here's the thing that's been puzzling me: When I did change my passcode, I changed it to the same passcode and the popup just accepted it. I was happy at the time, but on reflection I was wondering why it didn't reject it (if it was truly related to a work email account that I have on my phone?)
     
  19. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #19
    So you are saying it didn't take you to iOS settings area for passcode to do it there, it just presented another pop-up to change the passcode right where you were?
     
  20. Arran macrumors 68040

    Arran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    #20
    You know I really can't remember. It was a couple of months ago and the darn thing popped up right when I was busy doing something else. I didn't give it enough thought at the time. My bad.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 3, 2016 ---
    Or crooks could just bulk-harvest device pass codes at random and archive them. Gradually build up a huge list for many people's phones. Then, whenever a lost/stolen device happened to come into their possession, they could check their database to see if they already had the unlock code?

    Is that do-able?
     
  21. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #21
    I don't have any authoritative source.

    If I am not mistaken, the alert message being discussed, is one that routinely pops up with those who have an exchange profile etc. With this problem affecting many who don't have exchange profile restrictions on their device, I believe that the problem is due to an iOS bug. I had the same message pop up on my phone a good while back a few times, and I did not have any exchange provision requirement profiles, nor did I have any third party apps installed at the time of the alert message.
     

Share This Page