password question!?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by kingballin20, Dec 21, 2008.

  1. kingballin20 macrumors regular

    kingballin20

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    what's the deal w / the touches password thing,
    is it if u get it wrong 10 times it locks? Or it erases everything?


    Need clarification plłęëêéèeąåãæäâáàašśsęëêéèes!¡

    ( yes I'm on an iPod asking)
     
  2. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #2
    Under settings you can make it to where if you get it wrong ten times in a row it erases everything.
    If that setting isn't enabled and you get it wrong ten times is just locks for one minutes.
     
  3. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    it will erase all contents after 10 wrong attempts ONLY if you have turned that option on in the settings. (it is turned off by default)

    I believe that if that setting is off, after 10 (or 5) wrong attempts, the iPod will lock for 1 minutes. If the same happens again after the minutes is up, it goes to 5 minutes and so on.

    hope that helps!
     
  4. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #4
    Yeah, so by the time it erases everything the person will have been trying to unlock it for hours and hours, at the very least.
     
  5. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #5
    No. It takes less than five minutes to get it wrong ten times.
     
  6. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #6
    After five tries mine locks for a minute, if it's incorrect again it locks for a further five minutes, I couldn't be bothered trying again after that...I get my iPod back from Apple tomorrow (hopefully), so I'll try it again.

    But clearly 1 + 5 > 5 :p
     
  7. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #7
    Woops, I mean to quote your post before my last one.
    Why did you have to take you iPod to Apple?
     
  8. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #8
    I sent it to them once before because it had a light leak, which let lots of dust into it...when I got it back they hadn't fixed anything, plus I noticed it had gotten scratched like hell when it was being serviced (they all seemed to be caused by the same thing as most were the same length and running parallel to one another). I organised another service with Apple and they've replaced it with no problems this time :)

    Your story about getting a replacement iPod for the one with the shattered screen was better though :p
     

Share This Page