Passwords not totally hidden in new iPod Touch 2.0 software - BE CAUTIOUS

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by theranch, Jul 12, 2008.

?

Are you having this unhidden password problem with the 2.0 software update?

  1. Yes

    8 vote(s)
    66.7%
  2. No

    4 vote(s)
    33.3%
  1. theranch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    Atlantic City area
    #1
    While using my iPod Touch with the new 2.0 software installed I noticed that there is a lag in the software for hiding passwords. When I type in an input field for a password you can see the character or number that I'm typing for a second OR TWO! Then it changes to the dot that we associate with a password input field. NOT good!

    I started a thread on Apple's discussions forum already.
    http://discussions.apple.com/message.jspa?messageID=7567266#7567266
     
  2. SirithX macrumors 6502

    SirithX

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    I noticed this as I was typing my password in AIM. I thought it was just a bug in AIM, considering how AIM isn't exactly the greatest program out there, but it's good to know this is an actual firmware problem instead, which isn't so good.
     
  3. Prof. macrumors 601

    Prof.

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    It's not an error, it's deliberate. Apple did this so you can see exactly what you're typing when you enter your passcode. I mean honestly, who is going to see your password when you're typing on a 3 inch screen? Don't worry about it guys. Unless someone is right on top of you, you have nothing to worry about. :)
     
  4. Baron58 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    #4
    zOMG the irrational whining on this forum is too much....

    It's a feature, not a bug.

    It lets you see that you typed the correct character briefly before it hides it.

    :apple:
     
  5. sharp65 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #5
    It's a feature, it's actually good you know your typing in the correct thing. I often hit the wrong letter/number by accident.
     
  6. AceFernalld macrumors 65816

    AceFernalld

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #6
    This feature (see: not a bug) was deliberately added into the 2.0 Software.
     
  7. natezire71 Guest

    #7
    Yeah, its a feature. You people whine/ worry WAY to much. XD
     

Share This Page